IGNORED

Terrible golfer, but would like to work in the industry. Any ideas?

Hazardous Lie
Note: This thread is 3612 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Call it a mid-life crisis if you wish, but I'm looking for a career change and would LOVE to be in the golf industry.  The downside is I'm a hacker, and have no formal experience in it.  I'm a project manager in the oil and gas industry for the past 2 years, and an officer / helicopter pilot in AF for 12 years before that.  What do you think?  Am I just day dreaming?! :sleep:

I suspect that if you are prepared to put 10,000 hours in to it then anything is possible ;) I dunno, I guess it just depends on what you want to do? You could always pop down to your local golf club and see if you can volunteer with the green keeping team and work up from there? Mailman

Mailman

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I want to work in the golf industry too. My dream is to be the beverage cart girl at Crandon.

• Upvote 1

In the bag:
Lady Tiger Shark 5 Hybrid
Lady Tiger Shark 9 Iron
Adams a70S Hybrid Gap Wedge
Adams Lady Fairway 1007 Putter

Call it a mid-life crisis if you wish, but I'm looking for a career change and would LOVE to be in the golf industry.  The downside is I'm a hacker, and have no formal experience in it.  I'm a project manager in the oil and gas industry for the past 2 years, and an officer / helicopter pilot in AF for 12 years before that.  What do you think?  Am I just day dreaming?! :sleep:

It depends on what you mean by "work in the industry". You can easily get a retail sales or management position at just about any of the large golf retailers if you don't mind the cruddy hours and relatively low pay. There's a saying though.....if you really enjoy plaing golf, don't work in the industry, you'll never have time to actually play?