IGNORED

New Golfer with questions on replacing grips and iron length.

Note: This thread is 3612 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hell everyone, I want to start off by saying I am brand new to golf, I have done a few scrambles for fun in the past, but I have always loved the game, I am now getting more involved with it and need some advise.  I have a very strict budget so I cant afford a lot of the new equipment that is out there, a few years ago a friend of mine gave me his uncles old golf clubs, the irons are Ping Karsten II The drivers are Super Concords by Nickent , I realize these clubs are pretty old, however they were barely used when my friends uncle had them.  I am 6'3" , the clubs are standard length, this hasn't presented an issue for me so far, I mainly have used only the irons are the driving range due to the drivers having a lot of flex and I am not used to them.

My question is this:  I have looked at getting new grips put on to replace the original ones, I have big hands, so I was wondering if that would help, also when I was measured they said for irons I need +.50 , is there a way I can get longer grips to add half an inch? I haven't noticed anything yet, would it make a difference noticeable for someone who would be going only a few times this summer for just fun.   My situation is I work minimum wage, and am on a budget so I am looking for the most cost effective path to take that would make them feel like new clubs again.  Thank you.