IGNORED

Should I Buy Used Clubs or Newer "Cheaper" Clubs?

Note: This thread is 3605 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all, I am fairly new to the game of golf (I've been playing for a few months). But since I've started playing, I've absolutely fell in love with the game. So, at this point i'd like to upgrade my clubs from what I currently have. Right now I have a crappy, cheap set of old hand me down clubs from my dad (these clubs are almost 20 years old). So that brings me to why i'm writing this thread. Should I buy used clubs, and piece together a set of clubs from say 3balls.com or usedcallaway.com. Or my other option would be buying a new set of clubs that are not as good as something I might find on one of those websites, such as the Adams TightLies set, which retails are 350 or the Callaway Strata Set which retails around 250 or the TopFlite XL set which is around 200.i believe. As of right now my budget is in the $500 range. Any comments, suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

I've used Callaway pre-owned a few times and can whole heartedly reccommend them. They have some great deals if you sign up for their newsletter. Not a shameless plug, just my own experience.

Corey

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Go used....

Use me for instance....when i first started regularly golfing about a year and a half ago i bought the top flite xl ti set......not a bad set but club quality was so - so and it didnt come with everything that i needed.....

I then bought a brand new taylor made rbz hybrid/iron set however i pieced together my wedges, driver, and putter with used stuff.

Driver- taylormade rbz 50 bucks at pgatourstore

51 deg a wedge.....Nike forgot the type but that was 35 bucks

55 deg s wedge.....cobra trusty rusty 35 bucks