Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
late347

Play until ball is holed, or concede hole? Rules and Slow Play

6 posts in this topic

I am playing stableford scoring...

I had a situation of sorts like this on last Sunday, really difficult course, difficult greens, for a high handicapper....

Our group had 3 guys in total...

1. As a high handicapper I can still sometimes lower my own hcp even with lousy scores like snowmen etc... (on those difficult holes)

2. Officially it would be the responsibility of the marker person, to decide, whether I'm able to gather stableford points from the hole, is this correct?

3. We have been playing and keeping score of each of our own strokes so far. So, my dad keeps his own score, and I keep my own score, but we sign the cards afterwards, no problems.

4. My dad doesn't know how to calculate, whether a certain stroke number at a hole, would actually gather any stableford points. My dad isn't so good at mathematics, I suppose. He just uses some online calculator thingy.

5. I suppose, official golf rules say that you must play until ball is holed, ain't that right?

6. Should I keep playing the hole, as long as I can gather stableford points, from that specific hole?

7. Otherwise, if you get zero stableford points, then of course there is no point in playing the hole anymore (because you get zero stableford points, and thus no negative)

8. For practical purposes, I suppose I could check out the club course rating and slope, and calculate myself, how many strokes I can allow for each hole, before going to play? That way I can make the calculations at home and already know beforehand how many strokes I allow myself for each hole, at the club course?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

All your marker has to do is record the number of strokes you take at each hole and sign your card;  all you as the player have to do is check the correct score is recorded at each hole, ensure your correct handicap is on it ,  sign and submit your card.  The committee is responsible for adding up scores, working out net scores or stableford  points.  It's certainly a good idea to know at which holes you are due a stroke or strokes but it's up to you alone to work out whether you can still make a point at a hole and decide  to pick up when you can't.  In Stableford you do not have to hole out if there is no chance of a point and certainly here we encourage players to pick up in that situation in order to save time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And this is CONGU/EGA related HC question, not USGA. Just to be clear.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And this is CONGU/EGA related HC question, not USGA. Just to be clear.

CONGU does not use slope but in any event this has universal application, as it is not necessarily related to handicapping per se, just stableford scoring.

.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I should say to keep things moving pick up if you can't score. Only if you play official stroke play you MUST hole out no matter what score you get even double figures

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I should say to keep things moving pick up if you can't score. Only if you play official stroke play you MUST hole out no matter what score you get even double figures

Yes, stableford does not require you to complete the hole. (Medal) stroke play does.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0