IGNORED

Should I start a Handicap??

HittNRunn
Note: This thread is 3620 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all. New to Sand Trap. I've been playing off and on for 5 years. Just playing with buddies. Never thought I would be good enough to play in tournaments by myself or track my handicap. The last couple of years I hovered around 90's to high 80's. Bogey golfer. I have had flashes of a great game but it would leave as fast as it came. I have always been a good putter. My best score ever was a +12. I recently bought a very nice set of used forged irons and everything just clicked. The last 3 outings I have been dialed in. I literally cut 10 strokes off my game +6, +7, and +5. Should I start a Handicap index? I don't think that I'm going to play any tourneys in the near future. I would hate to make my buddies feel like they aren't keeping up with me. They were playing before me and have always been trying to improve their game. They are all bogey+ golfers.

Welcome to the forum @HittNRunn .

If the cost is not an issue, an official handicap is worth it IMO.  I started posting scores two years ago and don't regret doing it even though my league did not require it.  Because it is official, there is no guess work if you want to do a fun tournament or scramble or even join a league.

If you do get one, I have a bit of advice.  Don't obsess about the number!  It can get easy to obsess about lowering your HC and that puts too much stress on you when you play.

So join the club!  Most of us are bogey golfers striving to be better because we love this game.  I have a GHIN number through a local course that I play a lot.  I post all my scores on line and update my HC on my profile here when it changes.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread