IGNORED

Getting ready for my major

GHIN0011458
Note: This thread is 3569 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So the process has begun. I am starting to get ready for one of three of my personal Major Tournaments this year. Obviously I want to win, but there will be guys who have played on the Web.Com tour, won Adams tour and Hooters tour events, played in US Opens, one played in a Masters.. etc. Anyways, it is a 50 percent amateur field 50 percent pro and first place takes home 15k for the pros. We all play in the same division. My real goal is to make the cut, which is roughly at 6 to 7 over par every year for two rounds on a course rating of 75. The course isn't easy.. its a 7200 yard par 70. So if it was a par 72 it is equivalent to 7400 yards.

I started practicing on Sunday, hitting two Jumbo's. Monday, hit another jumbo but abs were a little sore. Tuesday, practice round at one of the harder public courses in St. Louis and didn't hit the ball well at all, shot 78 on a 74 rated course. Ended up hitting balls Wednesday(just a large) and then finally the stuff I was working on clicked in yesterday which is good. So now the process will be to get reps in and move forward with drills only as I am done with changing anything in the swing. The only thing I have been working on is long irons because there will be multiple holes where I will have to hit Driver 6, 5, 4 into greens along with the par 3's which of course will be 4 or 3 irons. Wedge game was good at the last tourney, made 5 birdies so I warm up with them until I hit each target at the range.