Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Golfer6760

Cigar as Alignment Aid on Tee Box

8 posts in this topic

I played a match over the weekend with a person who smoked the longest cigar I ever seen. On every Tee box he would drop the Cigar to the ground and move it with his club using it as an alignment stick. Is this legal??? I brought it to his attention and he spouted off a four letter word to me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfer6760 View Post

I played a match over the weekend with a person who smoked the longest cigar I ever seen. On every Tee box he would drop the Cigar to the ground and move it with his club using it as an alignment stick. Is this legal??? I brought it to his attention and he spouted off a four letter word to me.

Not legal. Cigar is included in "any mark".

Quote:
Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks :-) I knew he was a cheat with a big mouth.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This sounds like a good opportunity to remind everyone that they should have a copy of the Rules of Golf in their bags. And they should take five minutes to look through it each year to re-acquaint themselves with the format and layout so that they can quickly find relevant Rules on the golf course.

When in doubt, take the book out and find the relevant Rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This sounds like a good opportunity to remind everyone that they should have a copy of the Rules of Golf in their bags. And they should take five minutes to look through it each year to re-acquaint themselves with the format and layout so that they can quickly find relevant Rules on the golf course.

When in doubt, take the book out and find the relevant Rule.

+1.  And you get your free copy with your annual USGA membership each year. :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Seriously though, if you point it out and the guy spouts out a 4 letter work back, is he really going to care about the rulebook?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously though, if you point it out and the guy spouts out a 4 letter work back, is he really going to care about the rulebook?

If it's a match through a league, the league might care.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would have sneezed on his back swing!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0