IGNORED

What to do when lessons aren't enough.....?

Warik
Note: This thread is 6043 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing for about 3 years, have had close to $1,000 worth of lessons over the past 2 years with 4 different instructors. I still suck at golf. By "suck" I don't mean "oh man I can't break 80 I totally suck" - I mean I'm a 36 handicap who shoots in the 110s, has only broken 100 once (98), and has no idea where to turn to start playing this game respectably.

I love the game but I can't play 9 holes without wanting to snap my clubs in two after each shot. It's not the short game either. No, I don't have a Tour-quality short game, but I have a good enough short game to be a 15-20 handicap. I simply have NO long game. Tee shots are sliced to kingdom come, fairway shots (if I ever end up in the fairway, that is) are either hit fat or sliced. Unless of course I try to hit a 3/5-wood off the deck... then they just end up getting topped.

The point of my post isn't to whine about my game (ok, at least not the entire point) - I just don't know where to go from here and need some guidance. I just want to be able to play a round of golf without wishing I had just stayed home after the 4th hole. Do I need to buy a particular swing training aid? Do I need to forget about trying to learn to swing the golf club correctly and just start making compensations (i.e. introducing swing flaws) to correct my other swing flaws? Do I forget about my last instructor and go find another one and another one and another one? Do I need to drive up to the Leadbetter Academy and blow a paycheck on one of their mini-schools? Heck, do I need to fly to Vegas and see Butch?