IGNORED

How to make high school districts (avg. 81) this year?

islandersfan1
Note: This thread is 3527 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey, I am a sophomore and am about to start practice on the high school golf team for the second year in about a week.  Last year, I averaged an 89, and missed districts by a lot (8 strokes).  To make districts where I live, you have to average an 81, or have the best score in 4 matches (we play 16).  Because my friend shoots a mid 70 every time out, the later is not likely to happen.

Last year, however, I did not play with a driver the entire season (my club head popped, and because I didn't work last year and my parents couldn't afford it, I didn't get a new one).  Instead, I teed off with a three hybrid.  I am not sure how much the driver would have helped because I has a hard time hitting it consistently anyway haha, but I really did have a huge disadvantage on par 5s.  On holes that I should be taking advantage of and birdying, I was getting 6s.  The one good part of my game is my putting.  My Avg. putts last year was at 2.2, but this year have focused on it more, and am averaging 1.7.  By that average, I should be able to drop idk 5 strokes.  Also, how much of a difference do you think the driver will make, because while I have not bought a new one, I will in the next few days, because I have the money, because I work as a lifeguard.

I really enjoy golf and since a few corrections of my swing (from my coach and others) I really feel I could drop to an 81. Are the club switches enough to get that low, and if not, what else can I do?

Thank you very much in advance.

"Golf is a game in which you yell 'fore', shoot six, and write down five".

Paul Harvey

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades