• Announcements

• Happy Thanksgiving!   11/25/2015

Happy Thanksgiving! From @mvmac and I, we'd like to thank all of you for being such awesome members. We have TST because we like golf and golfers, so we wish you and yours the very best today. Thank you!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

How close should you be to the ball at setup?

3 posts in this topic

Hopefully this isn't a dumb newbie question. I just started playing earlier this summer and I am getting better as I learn and practice. Of course, I still have much to improve upon and learn. Of all the adjustments that I have made so far, the one that resulted in the greatest improvement was setting up with the ball closer to me than it used to be. My hands are quite close to my thigh at setup (just a few inches). At first it felt a bit awkward, but it helped immensely. Is it normal to see improvement with this adjustment?

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Welcome to the forum! :-D

Ball position is definitely something that affects your performance. The sooner you get it positioned properly, the better.

It's hard to describe the position, so I'd rather suggest you look at this thread: Good Golf Posture .

There are individual differences, depending on your height, body composition etc., but from what I've seen, arms hanging down and slightly forward seems to be common. The bend in the elbows also makes it look more forward, while the upper arm still hangs relatively straight down.

The position will change depending on what club you hit, ranging from the driver to wedges. Where the hands are most forward with the driver, and most vertical with wedges, simply because the club is longer.