Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
boogielicious

Cameron Tringale Confesses to PGA Championship Error, Loses More Than $50K

6 posts in this topic

[URL=http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2165814-cameron-tringale-confesses-to-pga-championship-error-loses-more-than-50k]http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2165814-cameron-tringale-confesses-to-pga-championship-error-loses-more-than-50k[/URL] [quote]Tringale, 26, claims to have missed a stroke when attempting to tap in on the 11th hole Sunday, per a Eurosport report (h/t Yahoo Sports). Despite uncertainty about the stroke—Tringale himself claims to be unsure about whether he actually addressed the ball, which would decide if it warranted the penalty—the Mission Viejo, California, native claims to have been guilt-ridden over the past week.[/quote]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Good for him, bad for the wallet in the short term. He can play better, look other players in the eye, and make more money with a clear conscience.

I believe we see a lot of missed shorties when a pro gets a tad careless and puts a firm stroke on the ball, or in this case, a whiffed one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

"Man this guy is an idiot, how do you whiff on a tap-in?" ~ Hale Irwin
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Dang that's to bad, at least when I do that it doesn't cost me anything.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A couple of take aways from this for me.

1) What does addressing the ball have to do with whether a stroke was taken?  You can clearly make a stroke without ever addressing the ball.  Heck Nicklaus rarely if ever addressed the ball before hitting.  So why does Tringale say his uncertainty was about whether he addressed the ball or not?  That would only matter, as far as I can tell, if the ball moved, not if a stroke was whiffed.  Personally I have never whiffed without knowing that I had whiffed.  How do you not know whether you attempted to hit the ball or not?  I might not know if YOU were trying to hit the ball but I sure know if I was trying to hit the ball.

2) Why is it not a surprise that a guy doing what he thought was the right thing should be characterized as "bizarre" by Alex Micelli.

Going back to point #1, this "excuse" by the player throws a different light on things for me.  It makes me think we do not have (and may ever have) the whole story.  When the excuse looks like something that is a pretext then it makes you wonder what really happened.  The kindest construction I can put on it is that he misunderstood the rule and mistakenly thought that if he did not address it the whiff did not count as a stroke.  Then maybe something happened that made him realize what the rule really said.

Quote:

Addressing The Ball

A player has “ addressed the ball” when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance .

Stroke

A “ stroke ’’ is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke .

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I believe 'intention' is paramount here.  Did he intend to strike the ball? Was he waving the club in disgust with no intent to hit the ball?

Well known is down-swinging the club and changing your mind, passing the clubhead over the ball.  No stroke taken.  Confer Kevin Na.

I suspect Tringale is operating under ignorance and fear.  He does not know the rule, or cannot precisely remember the moment, and he very fearful of an armchair viewer calling him out with Tringale being labeled a 'cheater'.  He passes on the $50K and secures his good boy reputation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • When is the weather "too bad" to play?
      Its the same at Stoneleigh, recovered from aerification, and the rough just loved all the rain.  Member-Guest is next weekend, fairways will be important.
    • Jr Tournament play?
      For the junior tournaments where I worked as a rules official, the parents were not allowed near the players or their balls.  They had the status of being observers or fans, nothing more.  No coaching was allowed, and certainly they did not race ahead to the area where the balls lay after a stroke.  In fact the only carts allowed for family were for those who were disabled - all others walked.  Such potential interaction as you describe would not have been allowed.
    • The Dan Plan - 10,000 Hours to Become a Pro Golfer (Dan McLaughlin)
      Dan is the first to my knowledge to formally challenge the Talent Code, a non gifted individual who would commit to 10,000 hours of practice with the established goal of being a PGA Tour player.   Many members here that claim they want to be a pro golfer are younger kids who show some potential in the sport and are deluded or convinced into believing they have the raw talent required to become a professional.  I don't think we've had someone actually document their journey with the level of transparency Dan provided in the beginning of his "plan".   I started following him later in his plan and while I was initially rooting for him I eventually started to question his approach and commitment, as well as his transparency in his progress.  
    • Using the tee box markers?
      The player is not using equipment in an unusual manner since the  tee marker is not equipment - it is nothing more than an obstruction which is deemed to be fixed (i.e. immovable) when playing his first stroke from the teeing ground of the hole being played.  After that they are movable obstructions.   There is no prohibition about standing on an obstruction, immovable or movable, with one or both feet, when making a stroke as long as nothing is done that would constitute building a stance. As far as being a device, the all encompassing dictionary definition goes well beyond the meaning of the term as it is applied in the Rules of Golf.  A device is an obstruction, and it may be equipment if it meets that definition, but not all obstructions are equipment or devices. This is simply a case of trying to read into the rules something that isn't there.  If it isn't prohibited, then it is permitted.  I see nothing that would lead me to rule against putting one foot on or against a tee marker, provided that the tee marker doesn't move during the process.
    • Chipping from tight lies?
      I agree. Bounce is your friend. I had a pretty straight forward punch shot yesterday.  For short punch shots I like to use more of a pitch motion. An 8 iron has about 4 degrees of bounce. #NoGlide  In terms of difficult lies. I'd say a soggy fairway is the worst. I rather hit of concrete than soggy fairway. It's just tough to let the club glide when the ground has that much give to it. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Adunifon
      Adunifon
      (35 years old)
  • Blog Entries