• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jmanbooyaa

golfers who drop a 2nd ball

21 posts in this topic

Anyone else experience the group in front or group you are in have no regard for others. What I mean is the type of player who feels it is ok to drop a 2nd ball without a care of who is waiting behind them. I have been witnessing this a lot lately. Today played as a solo. Course was not too busy.I had a solo 2 holes ahead moving right along. As I breeze through the front 9 and head to the 10th tee box I notice the guy in front has now linked up with a 2 some. No big deal they are 2 holes ahead. 2 holes later I am sitting on them and watching in disgust as they are taking 4 or 5 practice swings and dropping a 2nd ball because they don't hit the 1st well. 2nd didnt go much better. They did this for the remaining holes actually all 3 did this. Anyone else been witness to this type of player?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

That's half the membership at my home course. I hope their carts fall over with them under them.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Ask to play through.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Playing through would have worked today since the course was open. That was just an example of todays round. I see this a lot when the courses here on Long Island are jammed. Players dropping a 2nd multiple times in a round without regards to other players.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Contact the course Marshall.... ;-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

If I hit a bad shot or shank a ball into an out of bounds area, I'll occasionally drop another ball and retake the shot, but only if there is no one behind me and I'm sure I won't be holding up anyone. I'd be pretty mad if I saw someone drop a ball in front of me while I was waiting on the tee box.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I hit a bad shot or shank a ball into an out of bounds area, I'll occasionally drop another ball and retake the shot, but only if there is no one behind me and I'm sure I won't be holding up anyone. I'd be pretty mad if I saw someone drop a ball in front of me while I was waiting on the tee box.

I waited on someone today who decided to practice putt to his hearts' content while I was behind him with someone else. At least 4 putts while everyone else in his group walked away. Then I watched in horror as he was putting his club away and the guy I was with started to swing. Thank goodness his shot was short. I don't think there is a problem with an extra shot once in awhile as log as it doesn't hold up play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I'll often play two balls at the same time just for fun, but only if there's at least a couple of holes between me and the next group.  And the course manager doesn't care as long as nobody's getting held up.  I've done the whole course like that a couple of time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Eh, generally it's not a big deal if they're not holding anyone up.  However, it does tear up the golf course unnecessarily, and you paid to play one .

If it's your club, I think playing two balls is fine, but I'm not sure that works too well for accurate handicapping purposes.  Then again, it's probably only going to improve your handicap.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it wouldn't be appropriate to report a score for either ball for handicapping purposes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had a foursome of those guys yesterday. No one in front of em, but they weren't giving us a chance to pass. Their two carts were never more than 10 yards apart as they followed each other from one side of the fairway to the other. My partner counted three tee shots per hole for one of them. We packed it in after nine holes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Every once in a while I am poking along and suddenly there is a single or twosome in a cart behind me.  Usually it occurs on the back nine.  I know I have several holes clear behind me when I make the turn so sometimes I take extra time to pick some wildflowers for my wife or do a bit of ball shagging.  If player or two tee off on #10, they can sometimes zoom up on me and I suspect they post a thread about some old fart picking flowers and holding up their game.  Once I am aware of the presence of someone behind me, I will immediately pickup the pace and if the followers are the rare individuals who can keep pace with me, I will either ask them to join me or let them through.

The point is that not every instance of multiple hits or putts is done with knowledge that a single player or twosome is following.  Once one becomes aware of the situation, the practice should stop and if it does not, a polite "Fore" might be in order or request to play through so the person(s) can continue to practice without holding one up.  If the practice persists and they won't allow a faster group through, then contacting a marshal or the clubhouse makes sense (or skip a hole).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

We had a foursome of those guys yesterday. No one in front of em, but they weren't giving us a chance to pass. Their two carts were never more than 10 yards apart as they followed each other from one side of the fairway to the other. My partner counted three tee shots per hole for one of them. We packed it in after nine holes.

That's BS! The guys I play with do this all the time, it's getting pretty damn ridiculous. I used to just start walking towards my ball after they hit the first but stopped doing that when 2nd shots were flying over my head anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had a foursome of those guys yesterday. No one in front of em, but they weren't giving us a chance to pass. Their two carts were never more than 10 yards apart as they followed each other from one side of the fairway to the other. My partner counted three tee shots per hole for one of them. We packed it in after nine holes.

I was lucky on Friday (because I didn't catch them earlier) - I caught this same group on #17.  Come up to the tee and they are right of the fairway, both carts over there.  Took forever for them to hit past the pond.  Ditto on each other shot.  Then standing around after putting.....  Then standing on the tee box a lot before hitting.  I waved at the group and the two that observed that turned away quickly for some odd reason.

In fact on 18 (within a half hour or twilight), I'm sitting in the fairway WAITING for them to finish each each of their 5 minute putting/discussion routines.

They finish, 2 get in the cart and drive off.

The other 2 stood there next to the green for about 5 minutes (seriously) before getting in the cart and driving off.

The guy in the orange pants was particularly slow, painfully slow.

Fortunately, the groups behind me hadn't yet caught up.

I didn't see them in the bar or parking lot.

White Eagle Golf Course (Hudson WI) - Twilight hours - Friday Aug 22.  I hope one of the foursome here is a member just for friendly information.  Guys - you are really slow and it comes across as purposely slow, not just oblivious like most.

Now - I was playing very fast, but they didn't know that.  Every group on the course other than this one was super courteous, attentive, fun to talk to - I really enjoyed myself and met some cool people.  was very conscious about letting me play through as a solo on a very non-busy day.  I think I teed off with three 4-somes and a 3some.  (Hit your tee with us and then hurry to the next shot and get ahead - worked great).  This group, would have been horrible to tail regardless of whether I was fast slow, solo or in a foursome.

On Topic:  I don't care if people hit another ball.  But just one - if there's more, then they aren't really learning anything from that, rather they are just being oblivious to their real game.  And Not a fan of it at all if it even a little busy or will make anyone wait (in the group or another group).  i.e., do it, but if it can't be done unselfishly, then this isn't the time - go to the range.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I've seen it before and I definitely do some mean mugging. I don't mind playing 2, hell, play 7 balls as long as you're not holding anyone up.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I hit a bad shot or shank a ball into an out of bounds area, I'll occasionally drop another ball and retake the shot, but only if there is no one behind me and I'm sure I won't be holding up anyone. I'd be pretty mad if I saw someone drop a ball in front of me while I was waiting on the tee box.

You are supposed to drop and rehit if you hit the ball ob..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

You are supposed to drop and rehit if you hit the ball ob..


Of course you are, but I'm talking about the times where you're just playing for the heck of it. (AKA when no one else is behind you and you're just playing for fun), that's when I'd re-hit one without penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course you are, but I'm talking about the times where you're just playing for the heck of it. (AKA when no one else is behind you and you're just playing for fun), that's when I'd re-hit one without penalty.

I was just pointing out that in that specific instance you are supposed to drop and rehit, and people behind you may not realize that it is required by the rules. I'll drop another ball and hit if I think I won't find my first shot because it saves time. Though I almost got killed *exaggeration of course* last night because I hit a provisional off the tee, went looking for my first ball but couldn't find it but in that time a super speedy single in a cart had caught up to me but didn't see me. As I walked up to my provisional, which of course was dead center of the fairway :-X , a ball came flying at me bouncing probably 4 feet short of me. I'm sure the guy was pissed because he thought was messing about hitting multiple balls and being slow. Thankfully it was the last hole anyway.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      You're exactly right. At first I meant we were told to re tee if we could not find it, meaning unplayable stroke and distance, same as a lost ball but obviously you must call the correct penalty. But that makes no sense because it would just be a free drop if certain the ball was in. But what ACTUALLY occured was because of the cold and forecast of pouring rain (which happened) they made an odd rule where we could re tee without penalty if we saw the ball go in. So I did not do the free re tee, which someone in the group did a few holes before, beause we were not sure, AND we didn't rake it out, so it was declared a lost ball. But the other kid who did not do a re tee because he thought he saw his ball clear the sand, took a free drop without finding it, all within the rules. The bunker was on the right side of the fairway so my line was further and to the right of the kid who took the drop, who hit it straight and short. All i can vividly remember is us standing in the pouring rain and cold, dragging rakes through a bunker full of deep water, and finding every other golf ball! Crazy!  I think you got to the real oddity where an unidentified unplayable is the same penalty as a lost ball, but called something different. Unless there is some difference? I guess if it is found before you hit the next shot you would not be able to play it where it lies in the unplayable scenario, granted you did not declare the lost ball lost yet (then no penalty). Is there any other difference? I guess both you can tee it up after the penalty, and you still can't go more than 2 clubs behind the tee markers in the unplayable scenario I believe. Wonder if there are any other differences between lost ball and unplayable but unidentified.
    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      I think we are talking about a couple of different things.  First, I don't really understand the "local rule" you were given in your tournament with regards to the flooded bunkers.  When you say re tee, did they tell you to play your stroke over with no penalty.  Can't do that. As far as declaring a ball unplayable, this is different than taking relief for Casual Water.  You may in fact declare a ball unplayable without finding it, but in this case, you must play your next stroke from the spot where you played your last.  (Stroke and Distance)  If you think about it, its the same procedure as if you were to lose your ball.  Under the ball unplayable rule there is a one stroke penalty. Iacas gave you the rule for taking relief from casual water in a bunker.  In order to do this, it must be known or virtually certain the ball is in the casual water.  
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6. You're right about opening up too fast. I should have worded differently. It's not that your body isn't moving where it needs to move. It's that your arms aren't moving with your body enough. Or you might say the body isn't inluencing the motion of the arms. Try the Dufner towel under arms drill, it's an extreme drill but it will help this. Your body rotation has to help turn the club back to square, that is the whole idea, feel the body and upper arms turning the club back. Once that happens you won't have to flip the club shut right after impact.
    • My Swing (adragon0216)
      There is no such thing as a strong grip. There is a stronger left hand or stronger right hand. If you strengthen the right hand grip this will help close the face. If you weaken the left hand grip this will also help close the face, though less so. Stand taller and flatten the swing out until you are older. Don't try to be so bent over at the hips at impact. Take lessons so you don't get hurt swinging this way. Your shoulders should turn level through the ball. Like I said don't increase the bend from the hips at impact.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries