IGNORED

Embarrassed I don't know this sort of stuff...

Slick
Note: This thread is 3520 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi...I'm new to golfing...I am 41 years old and I want to take my 8 year old out. We've golfed at Disney World (once) and I've taken some lessons in the past blah blah... I was going to book 9 holes at a local public course but I'm not sure how twosomes or foursomes work. Would we have to be matched up with two other people? I'd prefer not to be, since we are not that good (more like god awful) and don't know every single rule exactly. We would certainly have etiquette, but I don't want the pressure of two people who know what they are doing in our group. So how do golf courses handle that? I'm going to a cheap ($20/person green fees) place, so I assume the best of the best won't be there. But still. Please advise. Thanks

You should be able to just go down to the club and pay for two people. You don't have to play with other people.

Can you just tell them that? They won't force you into a foursome?

Yes sir. Just say you only want to play by yourselves.

Thank you. I feel better. I was embarrassed I didn't know the etiquette for that. But how would I know? My dad never took me golfing and I'm just getting into golf! Haha. Thanks again.

Thank you. I feel better. I was embarrassed I didn't know the etiquette for that. But how would I know? My dad never took me golfing and I'm just getting into golf! Haha. Thanks again.

Haha it's fine. No problem, man

Riley

Can you just tell them that? They won't force you into a foursome?

If it's busy I would expect them to try to pair you up with another twosome.  Certainly doesn't hurt to ask though and I'm sure on a slow day it would be no problem at all.