IGNORED

Improving Quicker than Handicap Reflects?

GolferDan88
Note: This thread is 3213 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all-

This is my first post here. This season I have made it my goal to improve significantly. I've been playing for about 5 years, but only had one year where I was able to play consistently. I got a new set of Cobra Fly-Z's this season and have been playing multiple rounds every weekend since. This is the first year I've properly kept score (and obviously a handicap). I've dropped my handicap to a 24.5 having started at a 27.2

I've mostly been hovering in the 90's now that my swing is becoming more repeatable, but have days where I'll really struggle keeping the ball on line, resulting in many many lost balls. Even when I'm shooting in the 90's I'll usually have a 2-3 blow-up holes where I max my allowable score based on ESC.

I'm playing in tournaments for this first time this season, and my main concern is that because I have committed to improving I think I'm improving quicker than my handicap is reflecting, and I don't want to be seen as a sandbagger. Over the weekend, I shot my lowest score yet (90), but hit 6 GIR, and parred 3 of the last 4 holes. The previous day I started my round with 3 straight pars, finishing with a 42 on the Front 9. The back 9 I had two blow-up holes (I Hate those two par 5's!).

Below are most most recently posted scores. Based on my ability to go out and put up multiple pars within a matter of holes, along with having a decent number of birdie opportunities, how do you think my handicap reflects? My Home Course handicap is a 26, which I feel like is pretty high, essentially like having shot a 64 with my 90? Thoughts?

Thanks in advance for the input!