IGNORED

Upgrading Irons?

Note: This thread is 3152 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I know this has been asked 1000 times but I searched a little bit and decided to post

I currently have a set of Cleveland TA4 irons that I bought when I graduated High School in 1999.  I'm curious how much has the technology changed in the past 15 years on irons and would buying a new set really benefit me.  When I strike them well, they seem to be pure and I hit my 8 iron around 145 with them.  Now that I am rebuilding my swing and playing alot more, the thought has been entering my mind that maybe an upgrade is in order.  I don't have a huge budget, it would be in the $400 range probably if I did upgrade.  I just want to make sure it is worth it.

Obviously I know the money would be better spent on lessons, but I feel my swing is really coming around just with the work via this site.  I just want to make sure I am not being hampered by outdated technology.

- David -

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha Diablo

Woods: 3W - Callaway X2 Hot

Hybrid: 4 Walter Hagan

Irons: Callaway X-Hot 4 - AW 

Wedge: 52* - Cleveland CG15 Zip Black, 60* - Generic 

Putter: Odyssey White Hot #3

I just replaced Cleveland quad pro irons which are around the same age as yours. I replaced them with Adams xtd irons. They are much longer and more forgiving. The Clevelands were good irons for me and my dad before me but when I started hitting more recent irons it was hard to deny how well they performed.

DRIVER- Tour Edge EXS 220
3W- Adams Tight Lies 2
Hybrids- Cobra F8 19 *

Utility- Sub 70 699U #4
Irons - Sub 70 739 5-PW
Wedges- Tour Edge CB Pro 50, 54, 58
Putter- Cleveland Huntington Beach Soft #11

Ball- Titleist DT Trufeel