IGNORED

Is the 5W dead (replaced with hybrids)?

Note: This thread is 3066 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

As I wrote in my welcome thread, I'm new to golf as of this year.  I'm looking to add either a 5W or a 3H club to my bag.  At first, I was all ready to purchase a 5W since that seemed to be the "standard".  However, the more research I do, it seems that 5W are going by the wayside and everyone is picking up a 2H or 3H.  (Read this article last night)

For someone as new as me, do I pick up a 3H to get used to playing hybrids since that seems to be the thing these days?  Or pickup a 5W and continue to work on my game and get my technique down?

Thanks for the help in advance!

-Ryan

I wouldnt say its dead. I use a 5w and find it easier than a 3H. its all down to personal preference. Go to your local golf store and ask for a go on the similator (if they have one). That way you can get a feel for both and some free advice. The tracking software they have will be a real eye opener!

p.s. Welcome to the (new) site!

Russ, from "sunny" Yorkshire = :-( 

In the bag: Driver: Ping G5 , Woods:Dunlop NZ9, 4 Hybrid: Tayormade Burner, 4-SW: Hippo Beast Bi-Metal , Wedges: Wilson 1200, Putter: Cleveland Smartsquare Blade, Ball: AD333

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I wouldnt say its dead. I use a 5w and find it easier than a 3H. its all down to personal preference. Go to your local golf store and ask for a go on the similator (if they have one). That way you can get a feel for both and some free advice. The tracking software they have will be a real eye opener!

p.s. Welcome to the (new) site!

Agree.  I'm a hybrid guy, but know several that carry a 5-wood, and a few that carry a 5-wood and another hybrid.  Personal preference.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li