IGNORED

Tour Balls Make Short Game Worse?

Note: This thread is 3105 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So what I have been thinking lately is that tour balls may actually make my short game worse and therefore make my scores worse.

I have searched to see if others have found this but I have had limited results. So I thought I'd start a thread and see if anyone else has experienced this so that maybe we can start getting this idea to high handicappers/inconsistent golfers. 

I developed this idea this season when I started shooting lower scores and therefore started trying out some tour balls for my improving game. What I found was that these balls seemed to make my game worse. And I am not talking about shorter distance off the tee or too much spin on a tilted spin axis (sidespin) making hooks and slices worse. 

What I found was that the spin I would get around the green was inconsistent. With short chips and pitches I would get spin that made the ball check up when I struck the ball perfectly but then I wouldn't get it when I was a little bit off. This lead to some shots stopping quick many feet short or some releasing past the hole. So basically my inconsistent strikes made for inconsistent spin/check/performance leaving some balls short or some long.

Now I when I use cheaper 2 piece surlyn covered balls I know they are not going to spin much on these shorts whether I strike them perfectly or not so I can always play for them to release and roll out. Therefore all my shots roll out leading to a closer dispersion around the pin.