IGNORED

Forearm exercise - an effective way to increase distance?

rkim291968
Note: This thread is 3006 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

In one of my swing lesson sessions, I asked my instructor about how to add distance to my drive.   As part of the discussion, we talked about physical exercise I have been doing for golf.   He then told me to add forearm strengthening exercises - windmills, wrist curls.  I have been doing them for a few months now and feel that it is helping me hit a few yards longer.    I've heard others claim similar result.    Do you agree (or disagree) that forearm strengthening is an effective way to increase distance compare to other strengthening exercises?  

RiCK

(Play it again, Sam)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If I have my physiology right, most of the forearm muscles work the actions of your hands and fingers, so that strengthening those muscles helps strengthen your ability to grip.  Generally speaking, muscle tension is an enemy of rapid movement.  If strengthening your forearms makes you FEEL like you can grip the club with less tension, then you may be able to generate more speed, and clubhead speed is one of the major influences on shot distance.  I'm sure that others know much more about this than I do, but it all makes sense to me.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

I do them to prevent wrist and forearm injury. I had a pull in my forearm last winter.

• Upvote 1

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision