IGNORED

Alternatives to Mizuno JPX 850 irons?

Philman
Note: This thread is 2999 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi,

(Skip to final paragraph for main topic.)

So I'm new to golf, but not completely. I do have some experience at the range and used to play about 4 times a year whilst in high school, I don't have an official handicap either. Since the end of last year I have been very interested in golf and enjoy the sport way more than I used to in the past. Going to the range and hitting a few balls feels relaxing and enjoyable thus I want to get more into the sport.

Now, gear...I went for a club fitting (irons) at my local golf shop (Cape Town) where we tested a few brands, shafts ect.
He fitted me with a club and changed the shaft and there we were, something that I could hit easily and felt great/consistent.
The club was a Mizuno JPX 850 with a Dynamic Gold X100 shaft, it felt very good.
Avg. stats with the club: 6 iron, club head speed 100mph, ball speed 133mph back spin ~5000rpm.

So these Mizunos felt great and the club fitter advised me that I have a good swing and should get a set of clubs that would suit a wide variety of handicaps as I might improve quick.

I would like some suggestions of cheaper alternative clubs to the Mizuno JPX 850 irons which cost R10 000.00, I'm on a budget of R6 000.00 so something 60% of their value but with the same feel would be perfect! Thank you in advance :)

Moderator, please delete my double post, the lag was strong

There are plenty of options that are in the JPX 850 category, you just have to go a few releases back to get the price you want. PING G25/30, Callaway X2 Hot, TaylorMade SpeedBlades, heck you could even go with the JPX 800's.

• Upvote 1

Mike McLoughlin

Check out my friends on Evolvr!
Follow The Sand Trap on Twitter!  and on Facebook