IGNORED

Traditional Lofts versus Modern Lofts

Note: This thread is 3360 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Ok, I know that I have been sleeping for the last six years when it comes to equipment (maybe longer), but what advantage is there with modern lofts? Here is an example of what I am talking about.

Traditional/tour vs. Modern
PW 48 - 45
9 44 - 41
8 40 - 37
7 36 - 33.5
6 32 - 30
5 28 - 27
4 24 - 24
3 21 - 21

If you choose modern lofts you put such a gap in your play that you need the Gap Wedge, but in the end your 3 and 4 iron are almost the same. The traditional holds out at 4 degrees until 4 iron, while the modern starts with 4 and is a little more progressive.

Is it all about marketing to egos or is there something that I am missing?

In case you are wondering, my lofts are from my 845s (vintage 1992) and the ones on the right are from Cobra 2007. I have been looking at some sets and get a little put off since I love the way my gaps are currently. It seems like the modern lofts add a club when covering the spread while the traditional lofts spread out your gaps better. Anyway, fire away...

Cobra LTDx 10.5* | Big Tour 15.5*| Rad Tour 18.5*  | Titleist U500 4-23* | T100 5-P | Vokey SM7 50/8* F, 54/10* S, SM8 58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback No. 1 | Vice Pro Plus  

this has been discussed many times
it's all about marketing so people would buy clubs they can't use
and spend more money on buying clubs to replace them
i think most people here prefer traditional lofts.
for the same distance range say 100y to 200y you have to carry one extra club.

Launcher 460 10.5° <BB Solution 130 R>
Wishon 949MC 16.5° <SK Fiber Tour Trac 80 R>
3DX DC Ironwood 20°, 23° <UST SR2 R>
MX-23 5-PW <KBS Tour R>
Vokey 250.08, SM54.10, SM58.08 <DG Wedge> Callie 33.75"TLT Series 4MOI matched