Caddies lining up putts for their players - Page 3
Poll Results: Should caddies be allowed to line up putts for their players?
TheSandTrap.com Top Picks
The player is only allowed one caddie.
Player Briefly Changes Caddies for Exchange of Advice
Q.In view of the fact that a player may change caddies during his stipulated round, may a player briefly change caddies for the purpose of receiving advice from the new caddie?
A.No. It would be contrary to the purpose and spirit of the Rules for a player to change caddies briefly for the purpose of circumventing Rule 8-1 (Advice). Therefore, in equity (Rule 1-4), the player would incur a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play for each hole at which the action occurred.
I know its legal...but its cheating. They might as well permit the players to use alignment rods during a round to set up.
Any respectable teaching pro will focus on alignment to the target, early in the instructional process. Alignment is key, and getting it right (on your own) is another reason why this sport can be so tough..making it so great. The pros who have their caddies checking their alignment are making a travesty of the game.