or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

post #1 of 22
Thread Starter 
Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

Player hits the water and still scores a birdie.

How is this possible?
post #2 of 22

Re: Rule question

It is only possible if the ball is not lost in the water (skips out or can be played from the water). Otherwise, the drop after the lost ball is stroke 2 and the next hit is stroke 3, eliminating birdie possibility.
post #3 of 22

Re: Rule question

Originally Posted by TheNatural View Post
Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

Player hits the water and still scores a birdie.

How is this possible?

no handicap adjustment right?
post #4 of 22

Re: Rule question

Okay...handicap adjustment for a net birdie is possible, but I thought we were talking natural strokes.
Riddle me this.... just kidding.
post #5 of 22

Re: Rule question

Only a two possibilities (assuming it stayed in the water):
1) He hits it out of the water.
2) He keeps score like my neighbor.
post #6 of 22

Re: Rule question

I would have to applaud the man for holing a shot out of the water!!!
post #7 of 22
Thread Starter 

Re: Rule question

Key phrase


ball hits water...

yes a skip and resulting birdie in this equation,,,didnt think of the hc.
post #8 of 22

Re: Rule question

As long as the ball doesn't go into the water and gets lost, it doesn't matter what happens to it. You can skip it 15 times across as long as it stops somewhere so you can hit it again, there is no penalty.
post #9 of 22
Thread Starter 

Re: Rule question

it was a trik question
post #10 of 22

Re: Rule question

skipping the ball off the water, playing out of the water, doing either and just getting par would be pretty amazing..... but then again I applaud people for just playing in the rain.
post #11 of 22

Re: Rule question

Originally Posted by TheNatural View Post
Key phrase


ball hits water...

yes a skip and resulting birdie in this equation,,,didnt think of the hc.
You actually wrote 'Player hits water...' ......
post #12 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

Hits water going for green on par five with his second shot. Takes drop, adds penalty, holes the shot. Birdie.
post #13 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

In theory it could also happen in match play.

If the player played from the wrong tee or out of order, the opponent could make them replay the shot.
post #14 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

Originally Posted by songwriter View Post
Hits water going for green on par five with his second shot. Takes drop, adds penalty, holes the shot. Birdie.
True, but the question did state par 3.
post #15 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

I've actually accomplished that very feat.

I skulled an 8 iron, the ball skipped across the lake and onto the green to about 15 feet. I made the putt.

My buddy was like WTF was that?!?!?!?!
post #16 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

Originally Posted by TheNatural View Post
Situation is a Par 3 with water on the hole.

Player hits the water and still scores a birdie.

How is this possible?
Another possiblility: you said "player hits water". That could mean he himself fell in the hazard on the shot, but the ball landed on the green and where he subsequently one putted it for birdie.
post #17 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

How about an EAGLE?

post #18 of 22

Re: Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie

I had a shot yesterday to make a birdie (with a chip in) or a par yesterday after skipping a ball across some water. It was a Par 5 - hit a drive with way too much air under it into the wind. Over the forced carry, but not by much. In the rough, uphill lie, pop up a 3H about 160 yards that ended up about 8 yards behind a tree that is in the middle of the fairway, about 145 yards from the hole. Attempt to use my 3H to hit a punch slice and run it up to the green from the right side because there is a trap in the left front of the green. I don't cut the ball nearly enough, and it goes dead straight and skips across the water that borders the left side of the hole, and jumps out and ends up about 6 feet off the green -

of course, I failed to get up and down, but I still had a chance!


the hole in question

http://www2.cybergolf.com/sites/cour...434&page=26983
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Player Hits Water, Gets Birdie