This course yesterday also had a sign posted on the tee of one of those holes (didn't notice it on the other) that said "everything to the left of the cart path is OB." Does that sign over-ride the stakes themselves? Does it count as a local rule? I checked the scorecard and it only mentions the stakes.
I mean, if they didn't have stakes at all and only the sign ... certainly we would have no choice but to consider EVERYTHING outside the cart path OB, put the presence of the stakes combined with the lack of an actual line on the path sort of muddles the issue a bit.
I would suggest this is simply another example of poor information.
IMO the stakes are simply indicating the presence of OB. The notice is the Local Rule defining the OB.
There is a fairly common convention that black topped white stakes indicate the presence which they could have used.