or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Rules question Help
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Rules question Help

post #1 of 15
Thread Starter 
Not sure if this the right place for the post...

I scored a 7 on a par 4 today.
I was rusty....
First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee.
Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left.
Third retee drove the ball onto the green.
2 putt.

Is this a triple bogey?
post #2 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

Are you suppose to "re-tee" after the first ball went into the water? aren't you suppose to drop just in front of it? i'm not a rule expert by any means
post #3 of 15
Thread Starter 

Re: Rules question Help

Thats what im unsure of, so far Ive found that it can be reteed, the retee is a stroke.

So my next drive was my 3rd stroke. Then the next retee was another stroke then 3rd drive was my 5th stroke.
post #4 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

If it was your tee shot that went into the water,then you have the option of playing again from the tee if that seems to be the most reasonable course of action. IN this case you did everything correctly and scored a 7.
post #5 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..
post #6 of 15
Thread Starter 

Re: Rules question Help

Well the 2nd went OB so I would have to hit one that time w penalty.
post #7 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.
post #8 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

When a ball enters a hazard you can either play another from the original position or take a drop at the point it last entered the hazard. So you were right to do what you did. It may have been more of an advantage to take a drop where it entered the hazard depending on how far infront of the tee box the hazard started. So you played the third shot (including penatly for hitting into hazard) out of bounds then tee'd again for your fifth. Hit onto green and two putted for a 7. You did everything by the rules. Only difference you could have done was take a drop where ball entered the hazard if you thought that would have been more of an advantage. See below

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard
It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5), or
b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or
c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.
post #9 of 15

Re: Rules question Help

Originally Posted by Colinb913 View Post
Yeah, but after the second, I didn't think you can hit yet another off the tee. I thought you would have to drop.
As long as they were all played from the tee, then he can keep hitting from the tee till hell freezes over or until he gets one in play. His procedure was spot on. No more discussion needed.

He would have to drop if the ball had been played from anyplace other than the tee.
post #10 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelernation View Post

Not sure if this the right place for the post...


I scored a 7 on a par 4 today.

I was rusty....

First tee'd ball, drove into pond directly in front of tee.

Second re'teed and drove a hook into OB to the left.

Third retee drove the ball onto the green.

2 putt.


Is this a triple bogey?

You drove the par 4 green on your third attempt? I'd say considering your first 2 shots both resulted in loss of stroke and distance, that's a pretty decent triple bogey.
post #11 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colinb913 View Post

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

 

Not for the shot into the water hazard.  Most misunderstood rule in golf.  Provisionals are for balls lost or out-of-bounds, not for balls known or virtually certain to be in a hazard.

 

But, it sounds like he observed his ball entering the hazard, and then going out of bounds.  So there was no reason for a provisional in the second case either.

post #12 of 15

Why in the world would people who don't have the slightest idea of what the rules are answer a rules question and then excuse themselves by saying they aren't a rules expert?  The situations in the OP's question do not require a rules expert.  He got a 7.  Yes you can re-tee a second, third, fourth time if the situation warrants it.  You can re-tee your ball, of you choose, any time you hit into a water hazard off the tee.  You can hit a provisional if you think the ball is OB (or lost, but that didn't come up in the OP) but NOT if you think the ball is lost in a water hazard.  These are basic rules, and while it is OK to not know these things is it just weird to try to answer a rules question when you DON'T know these things.

post #13 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colinb913 View Post

I think you can hit a provisional? Cant you? I am sure a rule expert will be here soon..

You can't play a provisional if you ball is in a water hazard. 

You must play another ball under penalty of one stroke using the provisions of Rule 26.

 

If your ball is OOB you must play another ball under Rule 27-1b with a penalty of one stroke.

post #14 of 15

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

post #15 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

Probably should have left this thread alone.   Just about all the posters, including the OP, have not posted in a couple of years......so they're probably not listening anymore.

 

You are right - I never even noticed that.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Rules question Help