I might be able to elaborate on this one... assuming I understand what he is saying.
I played a few holes on Sunday night, I only played three. I caught some guys after the first hole and they asked me to play with them. I told them I was just practicing, but they insisted. I obliged. After hitting my drive on the 3rd hole (my last hole), I miss hit my second shot, not out of play, but still miss hit it. I dropped another and hit it. (FWIW I was working on moving the ball left to right). When we got to the green one of the guys asked me, "what I thought I was doing dropping another ball?" I told him I was practicing, exactly what I told them I was doing before joining them. He got all huffy and puffy about it and told me, "that is against the rules of golf." So I just told him to show me where in the rules of golf it tells me that I cannot practice. It shut him up, but still was a PITA.
Thank you. I was in a hurry this morning (late for work) and didn't explain myself properly. But this is exactly the kind of people I'm referring to. My apologies to all for the too short first post.