Re: Can PGA Rules Officials be Proactive?
Originally Posted by TourSpoon
If he had asked for a ruling about it, what the rules official says is the final word, even if it's incorrect. I suppose if he realized he'd made an error prior to an infraction actually occurring, but the player would not be responsible for a penalty that resulted from a rules official's error.
If the rules official had been asked and had incorrectly told him that he was not in a bunker, he would not have been assessed a penalty. Too bad that he didn't.
Originally Posted by Judah Ben-Hur
No, once the results of a tournament have been officially posted, it's over and done with and ordinary penalties cannot result in a retroactive DQ. This is true at all levels. Truly egregious behavior---outright cheating and the like---would probably be handled as a special case, I'd imagine, but no one has to worry about someone scouring the video for infractions. It's too late even for this PGA, as the results have been posted.