Originally Posted by Chief Broom
5 in the fairway. If you hit a ball OB or you lose it off the tee you are entitled to recreate your original "lie". When the last stroke was made dictates the requirements of a subsequent stroke made under penalty. In this case replacing the ball after an attempted stroke on a "tee". When the dude retees in a different location the ball is deemed to be "moved" and thus incurs a 2 stroke penalty. Further problems present themselves after the player does not go back at some point during the hole and begin from the correct location, but since a 2 stroke penalty was incurred for the original movement of the ball no further penalty can be accessed to that particular infraction. Also under match play conditions the competitor in question would simply forfeit the hole.
I'm pretty confident that this is incorrect.
Under Rule 27-1, you may always simply choose to take a penalty stroke and return to the location of your previous stroke ("At any time a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot which the original ball was played"). You then have to follow the rule for returning to that spot and putting the ball back in play. The rule that governs this is the one I cited in my previous post, 20-5. It says
20-5. Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made
When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:
a. On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground. It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.
b.Through the Green: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the coursethrough the green.
c.In a Hazard: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course in the hazard.
d.On the Putting Green: The ball to be played must be placed on the putting green.
Thus, by (a), when your previous spot was teed on the teeing ground, there's no penalty for choosing a different location.
Also, note that in no case do you "recreate the original lie." You tee, drop, or place, but that is all. So if your previous shot was a buried bunker shot and your drop sits up on top of the sand, you don't have to re-bury it.
So, anyway, I still think it's:
1) stroke, ball is now in play atop the tee
2) penalty (under Rule 18-2) for moving ball, ball should be replaced on the tee
3) penalty (under rule 27-1) for playing a ball from the location of the previous stroke, which because this is on the teeing ground, "may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed"
4) stroke, ball lands in fairway
Edit: ghalfaire posted while I was writing that, here's my response:
Originally Posted by ghalfaire
I don't believe knocking the ball off the tee is a stroke if it wasn't intended as such so he can re-tee it and until he takes another stroke he can re-tee it anywhere in the tee box. So he is laying three in the fairway.
That's an interesting interpretation. Knocking the ball off accidentially is certainly not a stroke, but it may (or may not) be a penalty. I think it depends on the sequence of events. If he knocked the ball off the tee while picking it up to move it somewhere else, I think you'd be correct. If, as I pictured it, he was either preparing for his next stroke or otherwise being careless, then decided after knocking it off the tee that he was going to move and re-tee, I think both penalties would be warranted. I don't have any specific basis for this, though, other than my own sense of Equity...