So here is a questionable ruling that came up in a recent round of golf (non-tournament round)... And I just want to see if the way our foursome played the shot was correct and get your feedback.
I hit a shot from ~ 145yds that came to rest at the base of a large tree (right of the green side). The base of the tree was very large and my ball was nearer the left side of the tree. If I took my stance from my normal playing side - hitting the ball right handed... I literally could barely place the club between the ball and the tree base. There was no way I could swing right handed.
Now, if I went to the left side of the tree, and flipped my iron around to hit the shot left handed with a right handed club - I could take a swing with no interference with the tree.
Here comes the tricky part...
On both the normal right handed stance - and left handed stance... A cart path was at the base and my feet were standing on it. The ball was not on the cart path - but basically dirt between the cart path and the tree base. There was maybe 12 inches between the base of the tree and cart path.
When we first walked up to my ball, my buddies in the foursome were laughing and saying good luck hitting that shot. Then I pointed out that I could get a free drop (one club length - no closer to the hole) due that the cart path was at my feet in my normal stance.
They agreed, and I took the free drop. I just want to make sure that we used the correct ruling and the shot was played correctly.