Guys, just so everyone is clear we are not talking about taking an Unplayable Rule 28. You CAN NOT take an unplayable in a water hazard. You CAN NOT take an unplayable in a bunker without dropping in the bunker, no closer or, if you can not do that, play the ball from the spot from which the ball was last played. Rule 20-5 This is all with a one stroke penalty.
What we're talking about in this thread is complying with Rule 24-1, Movable Obstruction. You must replace your ball after moving the obstruction. Rule 20-3d covers what to do if you can not replace the ball without the ball moving.
If you can not comply with rule 20-3d, with a ball in a bunker, because you can not find a place where the ball will stay put without being closer to the hole, the rules have a decision which allow you to place the ball outside the bunker with a one stroke penalty. Whether you agree or not, the rules think you should not get a free get out of bunker card, because of a rake or other obstruction laying against your ball in a bunker.
Allowing you to push the ball into the sand, is allowing you to change your lie. This creates a whole new can of worms.