or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!

post #1 of 25
Thread Starter 

FOrtunately the course I was playing wasn't crowded & nobody was on the green on the adjacent hole.   Obviously, I didn't want to hit a 5 iron off the green to get back to my fairway.     I took a lie no closer to the hole, dropped on the fringe of the green & got it back nicely on my fairway.      How would you play and score the penalty associated with flying a drive onto a green on an adjacent hole ?     I played it OB, but could it be considered ground under repair with no penalty ?   THx

post #2 of 25

The rules allow you a free drop off an adjacent green, assuming it isn't marked as OB. No penalty.  That is, unless you bonk someone putting on it, then see your lawyer.

post #3 of 25

And to be respectful of the course, I'd drop off the fringe so any divot is not on the fringe. 

post #4 of 25

Just a couple of notes on this.  

 

This is a "must" under the rules.  You are not allowed to play from a wrong green.  You must take relief.

 

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

 

Although not playing from the fringe is good advice in a casual round, be aware that technically, (you're in a tournament)  the drop (ball hits the ground) must be within 1 club length from your nearest point of relief.  This may or may not get you off the fringe.

 

If you DO NOT take relief from a wrong putting green the penalty is loss of hole in match play, a 2 stroke penalty in stroke play.

post #5 of 25

Dormie's point totally valid for tourney rounds, but big second for Rustyredcab's point for every other round.  I've seen a few guys take huge divots on the fringe barely off the green.  So lame and damaging to the course.

post #6 of 25
Thread Starter 

Thanks everybody for the clarification (I'm kinda glad I'm not the only one who's done it)

post #7 of 25
Had it happen on Saturday...luckily it was in a scramble and I could pick it up like it never happened :)
post #8 of 25

The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.
 

post #9 of 25

no closer to the whole what? Enchilada??

post #10 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.
 

You did not mention that the relief allowed is upto one clublength from the nearest point of relief. That is important if a penalty is not to be incurred.

post #11 of 25

Done it a couple of times. Once I hit my drive like a giant pulled lobwedge on the green of the previous hole. After the drop I hit my next shot on the green of the next hole.b4_blushing.gif

 

But also a question. What if the green is a green for training aid. I would think that's no official green. What to do if it is not out of bounds and also no local rule in place. Play as it lies?

post #12 of 25

If it meets the definition of a green and is not out of bounds and is not the green in play for the hole, it is a wrong green.

 

ie It is specially prepared for putting or otherwise defined as such by the Committee.

post #13 of 25

Let me get this right.

 

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

 

At no penalty right?
 

post #14 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstrike34 View Post

Let me get this right.

 

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

 

At no penalty right?
 

 

Close but no cigar a1_smile.gif

 

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

post #15 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstrike34 View Post

Let me get this right.

 

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

 

At no penalty right?
 

 

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

 

 

Correct, no penalty.

post #16 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDutch View Post

 

Close but no cigar a1_smile.gif

 

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by sacm3bill View Post

 

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

 

 

Correct, no penalty.

Pardon me for belaboring the issue, but based on earlier conversations that would indeed be the fringe of the green right?

post #17 of 25

Almost certainly, but scenarios could arise where this isnt the case.

 

Also, for avoidance of doubt - not nearer the pin - this is the pin on the hole you're supposed to be playing, not the green you've ended up on!

post #18 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

 

 

So what is "full relief here", ie the ball is on the green so you take relief - ball obviously can't be on the green, can you stand on the green after relief has been taken? Obviously a big no no in a friendly game but could be an issue in a comp.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!