or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?! - Page 2

post #19 of 25

See Rule 25-3. The key is what is considered interference under the rule in the first place.   Interference is when the ball is on the green, different than R25-1 which covers abnormal ground conditions where interference from the condition includes ball, stance, and area of swing..  Consequently, with wrong putting greens, the nearest point of relief, the place where you have full relief, is only concerned with where the ball is.

 

So yes, you could still be standing on the green.

 

I thought I remember a local rule that could be used to include fringes when taking relief, but I did a quick look and couldn't find it.


Edited by Dormie1360 - 2/5/13 at 5:36pm
post #20 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

 

 

So what is "full relief here", ie the ball is on the green so you take relief - ball obviously can't be on the green, can you stand on the green after relief has been taken? Obviously a big no no in a friendly game but could be an issue in a comp.

 

Establishing nearest point of relief always includes relief for lie, stance, and area of intended swing.  However, there is one exception in the rule for wrong putting green, in that if the ball does not lie on the green, then relief is not granted just for stance.  That said, I doubt that you would be well loved by the management or greenskeeper if your ball was on the fringe in such a position that you took out a swath of green with your divot.  You may be correct under the rules, but that won't help much as he runs you down with the mower.  Unless it's a competition, I'd be inclined to take just enough relief to protect the playability of the course.  

 

As well groomed as the aprons are on many courses these days, a divot there would be just about as bad as if it was on the green itself.  This is a rules procedure which is overdue for an update.  At one time the apron was really nothing more than an extension of the fairway, but that isn't always true now.  I'd feel quite put upon if I had to chip a shortsided miss instead of putting it, just because someone had left a trench in the fringe on my line.

 

 

 

Quote:

25-3. Wrong Putting Green

a. Interference

Interference by a wrong putting green occurs when a ball is on the wrong putting green.

Interference to a player’s stance or the area of his intended swing is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

b. Relief

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty, as follows:

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of reliefmust not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

post #21 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by tstrike34 View Post

 

Pardon me for belaboring the issue, but based on earlier conversations that would indeed be the fringe of the green right?

 

Not necessarily. It depends on the width of the fringe. The npr is almost certainly on the fringe but then you may drop within 2 clublengths of that point and the ball may roll a further two clublengths without having to redrop.

post #22 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

I thought I remember a local rule that could be used to include fringes when taking relief, but I did a quick look and couldn't find it.

 

It is Decision 33-8/33

 

 

33-8/33

Local Rule Prohibiting Dropping on Apron When Ball on Wrong Putting Green

Q.Balls from the 13th tee frequently come to rest on the 15th green, and the point of nearest relief under Rule 25-3 is the closely mown apron of the green. Much damage is being caused to this apron. May the Committee make a Local Rule requiring that a ball be dropped not only clear of the putting surface but also clear of the apron of this green?

A.Yes. The following wording for a Local Rule is suggested:

"For the purpose of Rule 25-3, the putting green of the 15th hole includes the apron surrounding the green."

post #23 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

Not necessarily. It depends on the width of the fringe. The npr is almost certainly on the fringe but then you may drop within 2 clublengths of that point and the ball may roll a further two clublengths without having to redrop.

 

 

I think you meant drop 1 club length from the NPR.  a2_wink.gif

post #24 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

Not necessarily. It depends on the width of the fringe. The npr is almost certainly on the fringe but then you may drop within 2 clublengths of that point and the ball may roll a further two clublengths without having to redrop.

 

 

I think you meant drop 1 club length from the NPR.  a2_wink.gif

 

You beat me to it.  z5_smartass.gif

post #25 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

 

 

I think you meant drop 1 club length from the NPR.  a2_wink.gif

 

Thanks, I did. b4_blushing.gif

 

My fingers were anticipating the next distance.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!