or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Grounding Club In Sand Trap
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Grounding Club In Sand Trap - Page 2

post #19 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignorant View Post


 You may touch sand with a club you have in your hand when you are about to lay that extra club down in the hazard. The penalty comes into the picture once you touch the ground with the club you are going to use to make your next stroke.
This may result in quite nasty situations when having two clubs in your hands and laying one of them down touching the ground (accidentally) with both of them. How would you rule that?

 

Yes, I agree in principle with your first two sentences but the book only refers to laying a club down and makes no reference to the club with which you intend to make your next stroke.

 

If you were intending to lay both down but did it rather awkwardly, I see no problem.

If he had one in each hand and one was not going to be laid down then unfortunately I see no way out of 13-4a.

post #20 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

Yes, I agree in principle with your first two sentences but the book only refers to laying a club down and makes no reference to the club with which you intend to make your next stroke.

 

If you were intending to lay both down but did it rather awkwardly, I see no problem.

If he had one in each hand and one was not going to be laid down then unfortunately I see no way out of 13-4a.

 

I agree, and additionally, you could probably be penalized or at the very least subject to a discussion, so either throw your extra club outside the bunker, take care in laying or tossing down your extra club, or don't take a second club into the bunker to begin with, all of which will avoid the possibility of a problem.

post #21 of 26

Here's a slight modification to the last question - player goes into the bunker with two clubs, sets one down properly, but then decides to change clubs to use the one that he has placed in the sand.  Any breach of 13-4?

post #22 of 26

No.

 

1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.

post #23 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogolf View Post

Here's a slight modification to the last question - player goes into the bunker with two clubs, sets one down properly, but then decides to change clubs to use the one that he has placed in the sand.  Any breach of 13-4?

 

No, unless he is testing the condition of the hazard. The intent of this Rule cannot prevent a player from changing his mind on the club to be used.

post #24 of 26

even if you slip and accidentally ground your club and take a swing and hit the ball, it is a penalty.  oddly, if you slip and accidentally ground your club, swing and miss the ball, it is not a penalty.
 

post #25 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

even if you slip and accidentally ground your club and take a swing and hit the ball, it is a penalty.  oddly, if you slip and accidentally ground your club, swing and miss the ball, it is not a penalty.
 

 

Which rule(s) do you believe say that?

post #26 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

even if you slip and accidentally ground your club and take a swing and hit the ball, it is a penalty.  oddly, if you slip and accidentally ground your club, swing and miss the ball, it is not a penalty.
 

 

Welcome to the forum.

 

It's clear that you're a fan of playing golf by the rules and as such you'll find a lot of kindred spirits on here.  

 

You'll also find that we share a lot of discussions that rely on our personal opinion about any number of subjects....golf related and not.  Some of those discussions get a little contentious but it's all in good fun and for the most part individual opinions are debated and responded to appropriately and respectfully.   Jump on in and join the fun!  I would respectfully recommend that you be a little careful in posts as they relate to rules.  The forum has a lot of members who are newer golfers and many of us feel that it's important to be absolutely accurate in answering rules related questions, if for no reason other than for their benefit.   

 

Again, welcome to the madness!  a1_smile.gif

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Grounding Club In Sand Trap