or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Is it legal to bring a rake with you into the bunker?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is it legal to bring a rake with you into the bunker?

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 

I see players do this quite a bit, especially at courses with large sand traps. It probably saves you a few extra seconds of "rake retrieval," but is it legal to drop the rake near you in the sand prior to hitting your shot?

 

If so, how does this materially differ from "testing" the conditions of the hazard with a club?

post #2 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

I see players do this quite a bit, especially at courses with large sand traps. It probably saves you a few extra seconds of "rake retrieval," but is it legal to drop the rake near you in the sand prior to hitting your shot?

If so, how does this materially differ from "testing" the conditions of the hazard with a club?

My coach always told me to take it with me, but I rest it on the sand and do not use fit to test the sand condition.

That would be too bad if it is illegal.
post #3 of 8

Decision 13-4/21 answers your question. It is legal to put rake into same bunker as your ball is in. You can even drop your bag in it.

 

Decision 13-4/0.5 tells you what testing the condition means:

 

Quote:
The term covers all actions by which the player could gain more information about the hazard than could be gained from taking his stance for the stroke to be made, bearing in mind that a certain amount of digging in with the feet in the sand or soil is permitted when taking the stance for a stroke.
 
Examples of actions that would not constitute testing the condition of the hazard include the following:
  • digging in with the feet for a stance, including for a practice swing, anywhere in the hazard or in a similar hazard;
  • placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard;
  • leaning on an object (other than a club) such as a rake while it is touching the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard; 
  • touching the hazard with an object (other than a club) such as a towel (touching with a club would be a breach of Rule 13-4b); or
  • marking the position of the ball with a tee or otherwise when proceeding under a Rule.

 

Examples of actions that would constitute testing the condition of the hazard in breach of Rule 13-4a include the following:

  • digging in with the feet in excess of what would be done for a stance for a stroke or a practice swing; 
  • filling in footprints from a previous stance (e.g. when changing stance to make a different type of stroke);
  • intentionally sticking an object, such as a rake, into sand or soil in the hazard or water in a water hazard (but see Rule 12-1); 
  • smoothing a bunker with a rake, a club or otherwise (but see Exception 2 to Rule 13-4); 
  • kicking the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard; or
  • touching the sand with a club when making a practice swing in the hazard or in a similar hazard (but see Exception 3 to Rule 13-4).

 

You can even rake the bunker (with certain exceptions), even if you can not get the ball out with your first (second, third...) shot.

post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

I see players do this quite a bit, especially at courses with large sand traps. It probably saves you a few extra seconds of "rake retrieval," but is it legal to drop the rake near you in the sand prior to hitting your shot?

 

If so, how does this materially differ from "testing" the conditions of the hazard with a club?

 

You can even take extra clubs with and lay them down as long as nothing is done to test the condition.

post #5 of 8

Technically no, as long as the rake is not used to improve your lie or stance, test the bunker sand, or assist in the swing line (i.e. leaving it parallel to your stance and aligning your body perpendicular to the hole).  In a tournament, never bring anything extra with you into a hazard (which a bunker is), or risk a persnickety player/official calling foul.  Some players like to take it with them and rake their prints as they go, because it saves sooooooooooo much time and effort from walking to the nearest rake after you take a shot; but if your groups competitive or playing for money, leave it be until after you've swung out of the bunker.  Also, keep in mind that it is good etiquette to rake smooth (maintain) the entire bunker before you leave, and lie all rakes equidistant from each other, entirely in the bunker's edge, parallel to the line through the green, handle pointing away from the hole (this is so you do not give a competitive edge to the group(s) playing behind you, by deflecting their ball away from the bunker with how you left the movable obstructions, a penalty on you).
 

post #6 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

Technically no, as long as the rake is not used to improve your lie or stance, test the bunker sand, or assist in the swing line (i.e. leaving it parallel to your stance and aligning your body perpendicular to the hole).  In a tournament, never bring anything extra with you into a hazard (which a bunker is), or risk a persnickety player/official calling foul.  Some players like to take it with them and rake their prints as they go, because it saves sooooooooooo much time and effort from walking to the nearest rake after you take a shot; but if your groups competitive or playing for money, leave it be until after you've swung out of the bunker.  Also, keep in mind that it is good etiquette to rake smooth (maintain) the entire bunker before you leave, and lie all rakes equidistant from each other, entirely in the bunker's edge, parallel to the line through the green, handle pointing away from the hole (this is so you do not give a competitive edge to the group(s) playing behind you, by deflecting their ball away from the bunker with how you left the movable obstructions, a penalty on you).
 

 

You may rake a bunker before playing your shot. There is now an exception to Rule 13-4 that allows it:

 

Rule 13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 is amended to permit a player to smooth sand or soil in a hazard at any time, including before playing from that hazard, provided it is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and Rule 13-2 is not breached.

 

Also it should be made clear that there is nothing in the rules on how rakes must be placed/left in bunkers, this is up to the club to set their own guidelines. 

 

And finally are you really saying that if a player in a group following hits a rake with their ball that you placed, that you receive a penalty? More nonsense.

post #7 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post


how you left the movable obstructions, a penalty on you....

Where in the heck do you come up with this stuff?!
post #8 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordan View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

Technically no, as long as the rake is not used to improve your lie or stance, test the bunker sand, or assist in the swing line (i.e. leaving it parallel to your stance and aligning your body perpendicular to the hole).  In a tournament, never bring anything extra with you into a hazard (which a bunker is), or risk a persnickety player/official calling foul.  Some players like to take it with them and rake their prints as they go, because it saves sooooooooooo much time and effort from walking to the nearest rake after you take a shot; but if your groups competitive or playing for money, leave it be until after you've swung out of the bunker.  Also, keep in mind that it is good etiquette to rake smooth (maintain) the entire bunker before you leave, and lie all rakes equidistant from each other, entirely in the bunker's edge, parallel to the line through the green, handle pointing away from the hole (this is so you do not give a competitive edge to the group(s) playing behind you, by deflecting their ball away from the bunker with how you left the movable obstructions, a penalty on you).
 

 

You may rake a bunker before playing your shot. There is now an exception to Rule 13-4 that allows it:

 

Rule 13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 is amended to permit a player to smooth sand or soil in a hazard at any time, including before playing from that hazard, provided it is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and Rule 13-2 is not breached.

 

Also it should be made clear that there is nothing in the rules on how rakes must be placed/left in bunkers, this is up to the club to set their own guidelines. 

 

And finally are you really saying that if a player in a group following hits a rake with their ball that you placed, that you receive a penalty? More nonsense.

 

It is important to mention that reference to Rule 13-2.  You are not allowed to rake any part of the bunker which may be on your line of play.  

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Is it legal to bring a rake with you into the bunker?