Must confess, I am a little baffled by the 'hate' Phil has got over a sporting gesture to Justin Rose. That's just Phil and all power to him. Would I have done it? Don't know, probably not, but don't begrudge him for doing it. Also, yes he said to 'bench both him AND Keegan. Probably a bad call, but I'm sure with the best intentions - as has been said, it's not like they didn't have good players waiting in te wings, is it? It does seem at odds with a comment I remember Paul Casey being asked when he had a stupidly short turn around between two matches - he said "Come on, this is golf. We do harder things in training than playing golf." or words to that effect. Think Phil was speaking mentally drained anyway, but I think he's been around long enough to know.
Also quite surprised by several comments about Tiger. I've got no real issues with Tiger (ask my old man and you'll get a different answer! The way Tiger sometimes reacts on the course is astonishing for someone in his position) but the fact that he would have done well if this was Stroke play is irrelevant - it isn't stroke play and match play is different. You actually would have thought that the way Tiger plays it would have been the other way round, particularly with the frankly unforgivable way the course was 'set up' (read rigged) to try to give players like him an advantage outside the way in which that course has ever been played before. I actually like Olli's comment to a reported who asked if it was a big advantage to have 'shut out' Tiger. I paraphrase but basically he said no, not at all, Tiger is just one guy on a team. Some people over in the States sometimes forget that.
That brings me to the conceeded putt. Did they have to play out the hole? Yes, the rules of the Ryder Cup dictate that. Molinari (apparently) asked Olli if they could just half the last when they were waiting half way down the 18th but Olli said no, let's try to win it. Even if he hadn't said that, they couldn't conceed it until they were both on the green as they could only conceed putts. What's a far better question is why did Tiger conceed it as it gave Europe the out right win. I like Molinari, great guy, but he's not always been the safest pair of hands inside 5 feet. Answer - because it meant nothing to him, he wasn't going to be on the team that won the cup. Now this is where I start to agree with my old man. Who does Tiger think he is that he can decide, himself, that he will take a draw away from his team mates and his captain in particular. No, I didn't agree with all DL3 did, particularly with cutting down all the rough, but Tiger made the decision that DL3 is not a captain who didn't quite win the cup back, got a draw but didn't quite do it....... he's a loosing captain and that will never change. That's now written into the history books. No second chances, no way of changing that. If it had been a draw, some up there could have taken something from that. Not a lot, but something. Tiger decided that it didn't matter, that the 11 other guys sitting there are now on a team that lost outright, lets hope some of them get the chance to remedy that. One day certain people, Tiger included, will work out the team is bigger than the individual in Ryder Cup, then over here in Europe we better look out.
Last point, on a light hearted note, not funny but not quite as down as the last, did anyone else pick up on the part of the closing ceremony when the head (director was it?) of the European tour thanked the US team for being gracious in defeat, then the camera panned across their faces. Never one to mock someone else's misfortune but the choice of words was, shall we say, unfortunate.