or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball moved after marking/replacing on green before being addressed
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball moved after marking/replacing on green before being addressed - Page 3

post #37 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Yes.  I answered that a couple of posts back. See my post #19.

Ok, so 2 balls could cover more than 2 possible outcomes assuming that there are multiple outcomes (i.e. penalty vs no penalty) from the same position.  

 

Am I correct about the 3 possible scenarios that I laid out in my post #30?  I am pretty sure I have the first two right, but am not certain about the 3rd (which your post #29 seemed to introduce).

 

 


Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

 

I want to make sure that I understand this going forward.  Am I correct that there are 3 possibilities when a ball moves after being replaced on the green but before the player has addressed it-

 

1. The player caused a ball at rest to move- 1 stroke penalty and replace the ball to the original location.

2. The player did NOT cause a ball at rest to move- No penalty, play the ball from the new location.

3. The replaced ball was never actually at rest- would this be no penalty and replace the ball to the original location? 

 

 

 

Yes.

post #38 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

 

3. The replaced ball was never actually at rest- would this be no penalty and replace the ball to the original location? 

 


 

 

Or place it at the nearest point to the original where it will stay at rest 

post #39 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by MEfree View Post

 

I thought it made a difference whether you had addressed the ball or not...In my case, I had NOT addressed the ball which is one reason I had not bothered reading decision 18-2b/11.  Looking at all of the decisions relating to rule 18 provides evidence that it is a badly structured rule that has WAY TOO MANY NUANCES THAT ARE REALLY NOT IMPORTANT TO THE ESSENCE OR INTEGRITY OF THE GAME.  A good clear cut rule would not need to have so many decisions and would not have so many decisions (12) that have been reversed.

Why don't you give the USGA a call and discuss it with them?

 

I'm not being sarcastic.  They have people designated to deal with rules questions and who note down rule feedback for future revisions of the rules.  I'm not saying they'll agree with you, but they may be able to explain it in a way that makes you more satisfied.  The worst that can happen is you get no response, so what's to lose?

post #40 of 42

If you feel definitively assured, and no one contests such, that your actions did not cause the ball to move, and you had not placed your club at address or were taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball, recreate the original lie with no penalty.  Otherwise take a stroke and play it as it now lies.
 

post #41 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

If you feel definitively assured, and no one contests such, that your actions did not cause the ball to move, and you had not placed your club at address or were taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball, recreate the original lie with no penalty.  Otherwise take a stroke and play it as it now lies.
 

 

Your reply is very confusing. Are you saying that if he did not address the ball and did not cause it to move, that he should replace it?

post #42 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

If you feel definitively assured, and no one contests such, that your actions did not cause the ball to move, and you had not placed your club at address or were taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball, recreate the original lie with no penalty.  Otherwise take a stroke and play it as it now lies.

 

Oh my gosh. You really need to quit posting answers, rules man can't keep up, and may give up...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball moved after marking/replacing on green before being addressed