or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Score to post after losing hole in match play
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Score to post after losing hole in match play

post #1 of 39
Thread Starter 
So I was playing a match today and I hit into a ditch.  I removed a few twigs, and then realized that the ditch was marked as a lateral hazard (it is a drainage ditch that happens to be dry right now).  So I lose the hole for removing loose impediments in a marked hazard.  (stupid on my part, but oh well)
 
I still played out the hole and ignoring any penalty strokes scored a 6.  For purposes of posting my score for handicap purposes what should I score for this hole?  Do I count the stroke play penalty of 2 strokes and record an 8?  Was it wrong to play out the hole once I committed the infraction?  If so, would I take the 2 penalty strokes into account in determining the most likely score?  I can't recall hearing or reading anything about this situation and how to handle it.
post #2 of 39

In match play, your score is what you would mostly have received.  So I would say you record an 8.

post #3 of 39

Nothing wrong with playing out the hole.  (Not considered practice under the Rules.)  For posting, include your penalty strokes.  If you played out the hole I'd use that score for posting......assuming you were still giving your best effort.  Otherwise, post what you would have most likely made if you had finished the hole.

post #4 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by lumpuckeroo View Post

In match play, your score is what you would mostly have received.  So I would say you record an 8.

Except that for handicap posting, that score may not exceed the players maximum ESC score. In this case, as a 14 hcp (note that course hcp is the determiner) he would post 7.
post #5 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

So I was playing a match today and I hit into a ditch.  I removed a few twigs, and then realized that the ditch was marked as a lateral hazard (it is a drainage ditch that happens to be dry right now).  So I lose the hole for removing loose impediments in a marked hazard.  (stupid on my part, but oh well)
 
I still played out the hole and ignoring any penalty strokes scored a 6.  For purposes of posting my score for handicap purposes what should I score for this hole?  Do I count the stroke play penalty of 2 strokes and record an 8?  Was it wrong to play out the hole once I committed the infraction?  If so, would I take the 2 penalty strokes into account in determining the most likely score?  I can't recall hearing or reading anything about this situation and how to handle it.

 

Since you played out the hole you use that to post your score.  If ESC is indicated (if 8 is higher than you are allowed to return), then adjust the score before posting.

post #6 of 39

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

post #7 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

 

No kidding. Match play is one player against another playing whatever shots they feel necessary to win that hole. They take chances when down or play unusually safe when their opponent is in trouble with no thought to the previous hole or holes to come. The only resemblance it has to stroke play is the equipment and the playing field.

post #8 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datsyuk View Post

No kidding. Match play is one player against another playing whatever shots they feel necessary to win that hole. They take chances when down or play unusually safe when their opponent is in trouble with no thought to the previous hole or holes to come. The only resemblance it has to stroke play is the equipment and the playing field.

Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible.......

I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.
post #9 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible.......
I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.

 

Agree to disagree. Check.

post #10 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible.......
I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Datsyuk View Post

Agree to disagree. Check.

For David, his HDCP isn't going to change if he posts them or not, so he might as well post them all.

 

And Datsyuk plays so recklessly in match play that they would unfairly affect his HDCP ... so don't post 'em.

post #11 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

 

I agree, but the USGA  allows it and some organizations, mine included, require that all competition rounds be recorded for handicap.  They had to come up with a solution which was at least workable, albeit imperfect.

post #12 of 39

This topic has been discussed quite a bit in other threads.

 

1) If you have a GHIN handicap you MUST post all match play scores.  This isn't a should, or it's allowed..........you must.  If you want to do something else, that's up to you......but at that point you are off the reservation.  (Sec. 5-1c  USGA Handicap System Manual)

 

2) Big picture here.....no matter what you may think, the USGA believes handicaps for the masses are more accurate if match play scores are included.....with the caveat that you understand how to correctly handle concessions and uncompleted holes.  Having been a Handicap Chairman and Tournament Director for a number of years I would agree.  The pros of this policy out weigh the cons.


Edited by Dormie1360 - 10/16/12 at 8:54pm
post #13 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post


And Datsyuk plays so recklessly in match play that they would unfairly affect his HDCP ... so don't post 'em.

.....and as a result, his handicap would be invalid.
post #14 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


.....and as a result, his handicap would be invalid.

 

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.

post #15 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.



Assuming that their rounds are played properly and by the rules, I'd argue that any time a player picks and chooses the scores that he/she posts, their hcp is invalid, regardless of what organization administers the hcp. Some do it to sandbag and some to drive a vanity hcp, but either way, that hcp is not a reflection of their true ability/potential.
post #16 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post


Assuming that their rounds are played properly and by the rules, I'd argue that any time a player picks and chooses the scores that he/she posts, their hcp is invalid, regardless of what organization administers the hcp. Some do it to sandbag and some to drive a vanity hcp, but either way, that hcp is not a reflection of their true ability/potential.

 

Yes, but this particular case (match play round under CONGU) is not valid for handicapping, at least to my understanding.

 

We were not talking about life in general.

post #17 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

Yes, but this particular case (match play round under CONGU) is not valid for handicapping, at least to my understanding.

 

We were not talking about life in general.

Quite under CONGU it needs to be in competition or declared as a supplemental score for handicapping before a round commences.

 

Since there is now virtually no difference between the rules of golf between the USGA & R&A the difference in handicap systems is mind boggling.

post #18 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.

I don't have a USGA index, which is why I asked what GHIN was in another thread (had to google it).  I was certain no other players were entering match play rounds for their index based on my observations. There's honest (which I am) then there's weird. Those match play rounds would likely be paired with stroke play 9's. That's just plain goofy.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Score to post after losing hole in match play