or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › PUTTING - when to tap in & when to lift ??
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

PUTTING - when to tap in & when to lift ?? - Page 2

post #19 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

Despite the cautious wording in the order of play rule, it is still effectively irrelevant in stroke play.  The only time I can see it as potentially affecting play is when the leaders in a stroke competition are paired in the final round and it comes down to the wire where it's almost a match situation.  I could see a player being picky about order of play in that case, but he still doesn't have any recourse if his fellow competitor decides to ignore propriety and play out of turn.  A rule without teeth is pretty much meaningless.  

 

Very reasonable.

post #20 of 22

it's your preference to finish the hole or not. be carefull of other player lines. dont forget that short putts ar'nt always easy. if you decide to tap in you should anouce your intention (before 2008 we had to ask permission I believe).

 

often player let the winner putt last on the 18th, and the winner does not tap in until his pairing has finished.

post #21 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubble View Post

(before 2008 we had to ask permission I believe).

 

 

There was no such requirement, the rule hasn't changed.

post #22 of 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubble View Post

 

 

often player let the winner putt last on the 18th, and the winner does not tap in until his pairing has finished.

 

This is only for high level tournaments where a large gallery is present, so that the gallery doesn't start celebrating before the last player has putted out.  It's just in the interest of courtesy. 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › PUTTING - when to tap in & when to lift ??