or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Hole in three today
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Hole in three today - Page 4  

post #55 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

A definition of a hole in one.........

A shot that enters the hole from the tee with no intervening shots.

 

This is what he did

No, it's not.  A hole-in-one, by definition, is when you make it into the hole in one shot.

 

I realize there are quite a few confusing rules and quirks regarding the game ... this ain't one of them.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by logman View Post

That's what I thought. I never even thought of the "one ", in hole in one referred to the scorecard. I always thought it referred to a tee shot that that went into the cup.....in one shot ...."hole in one". So my 20 shots into the scrub then a "hole in one would score a 41, INCLUDING a hole in one. That's all I thought.

B.S.  A normal (non-trolling) person would have added the disclaimer of it being his third shot at the end of the OP ... not in post #20 after receiving 18 undeserved congratulations'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

Above is correct...........First stoke counted as one , next stroke penalty, third shot ace. How else would you describe the third shot?

Let's see ... how about calling his third shot, oh I don't know ... his third shot?!?!?!?!

 

Look, nobody doubts that it's impressive to hole one out from far away, and we'd all commend him for that, but a "holeout" is the best you're gonna get.  It ain't a hole-in-one.  Period.

post #56 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

If logman was ever asked if he has hit a hole in one right handed his answer would be "yes, however,it was a  re tee and it only counted as a par"   That is what i think logman is trying to say. He has hit a hole in one by definition, he is not arguing the ROG . It is a hole in one. 

It took him two swings to get the ball in the hole.

 

Still cool, though.

post #57 of 79

 No, No, How would you discribe the shot. You would say the third shot went in the cup, however, I am certain you would say he aced it for a three.

You are discribing the  shot, and the shot was an ace. Simple. We are not talking about the score we are talking about the SHOT>

post #58 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

No, No, How would you discribe the shot. You would say the third shot went in the cup, however, I am certain you would say he aced it for a three.

You are discribing the  shot, and the shot was an ace. Simple. We are not talking about the score we are talking about the SHOT>

If it was me, when I was desribing it to my friends, and even people on here cuz it's quite likely that I would start a thread, I would probably call it a hole in one (for a beat) then say it was actually for a par.  Then we'd all have a good laugh.  Nowhere would I adamantly continue to say I got a hole in one, because I know I didn't.

 

As far as the description of the one isolated shot itself, I'd call it a "holeout."  That's it.  "Ace" means one, and like SCfanatic said earlier, every hole has a shot that goes into the hole, so if you are going to call the shot that went into the hole an ace - and it wasn't the first shot on the hole - then we all have 18 "aces" every round.

post #59 of 79

  So you would call it a hole in one.    Case closed...........(hole in one with an asterix)

post #60 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescarecrow View Post

  So you would call it a hole in one.    Case closed...........(hole in one with an asterix)

Still wrong. You can make up your own rules and terms but I wouldn't expect anyone but you to buy it.

post #61 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derrick Parker View Post

I was about to say.....can a bowler can throw 9 gutter balls, then three strikes and call it a perfect game? Maybe that's not the best analogy. 

No, because that's still only 7 frames. ;)

 

Seriously though, I think that is the right analogy, slightly tweaked.  Throwing one gutter ball, then picking up all 10 with your second, and then calling it a strike, would be pretty equivalent to what he did.

 

If only "hole in three" was the original title.  (Of course, then he probably wouldn't have got the views he was hoping for ;))

 

Logman, do you moonlight as a headline writer for yahoo.com?

post #62 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave2512 View Post

Still wrong. You can make up your own rules and terms but I wouldn't expect anyone but you to buy it.

 

 

 

  We are not talking rules, it is a DISCRIPTION of a golf shot....UNDERSTAND?....................Like arguing with your mother-in-law about your wife.

post #63 of 79
Thread Starter 

The analogy of "so therefore there are 18 holes in one per round" is wrong because there not tee shots. For me if you hit a tee shot into the hole it's a "hole in one". If you hit it into the mulga you take your penalty and then you have another shot. If you hit that next ball into the hole it's a "hole in one" Scoring is separate from golf. Golf can surely be played without scoring. By the logic of Gdaddy if your playing a social round of golf and not scoring then a "hole in one" is not possible. 

post #64 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by logman View Post

The analogy of "so therefore there are 18 holes in one per round" is wrong because there not tee shots. For me if you hit a tee shot into the hole it's a "hole in one". If you hit it into the mulga you take your penalty and then you have another shot. If you hit that next ball into the hole it's a "hole in one" Scoring is separate from golf. Golf can surely be played without scoring. By the logic of Gdaddy if your playing a social round of golf and not scoring then a "hole in one" is not possible. 

I can tell you where I come from, if you went in claiming that was a hole in one, you would be very dissappointed when you didnt get the hole in one payout from our club. 

 

Also, if you do not complete 18 holes with a real hole in one at my club, you also are ineligible for any winnings.

post #65 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by logman View Post

No, if I was scoring, it'd be a 3, including a hole in one

Ok sparky, I'll only say this once, so pay attention......

....you took TWO SWINGS. The spot from which you hit the 2d shot has no bearing on the result.

If you continue with this ridiculous argument, you're going to lose any and all credibility on this forum.......
post #66 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

If you continue with this ridiculous argument, you're going to lose any and all credibility on this forum.......

 

"Going" as in future tense?

post #67 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by logman View Post

The analogy of "so therefore there are 18 holes in one per round" is wrong because there not tee shots. For me if you hit a tee shot into the hole it's a "hole in one". If you hit it into the mulga you take your penalty and then you have another shot. If you hit that next ball into the hole it's a "hole in one" Scoring is separate from golf. Golf can surely be played without scoring. By the logic of Gdaddy if your playing a social round of golf and not scoring then a "hole in one" is not possible. 

What would you call it if I teed up 12 inches behind the markers and topped one 6 inches. I then proceed to hole the next shot. At that point I have holed out from the tee. Would you call that a hole in one?
post #68 of 79
Thread Starter 

Ok David, no need for the self importance stuff. But a tee shot that goes into the hole is a hole in one shot. The start of the hole is when I put my ball on the tee and it ends when it goes in the hole. The shot went into the hole in one shot.Therefore it's a hole in one shot.

 

have you ever had a go at those charity events, y'know where you buy 10 balls and try to get a hole in one and win a car or whatever? Proceeds to some charity or such like. 

 

by your logic, by the tenth ball you'd be shooting for a 20, not a hole in one, .......and in your world, It'd only be worth buying one ball because you can only get a hole in one with your first ball/swing. And if some golfer managed to get a hole in one you could mount a legal challenge saying it's not the act of getting the ball in the hole in one shot it's the score that counts.

 

So maybe those things should be renamed from "hole in one competition" to "Get the ball into the hole in as few shots as you can and win a prize"

post #69 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by logman View Post

Ok David, no need for the self importance stuff. But a tee shot that goes into the hole is a hole in one shot. The start of the hole is when I put my ball on the tee and it ends when it goes in the hole. The shot went into the hole in one shot.Therefore it's a hole in one shot.

 

have you ever had a go at those charity events, y'know where you buy 10 balls and try to get a hole in one and win a car or whatever? Proceeds to some charity or such like. 

 

by your logic, by the tenth ball you'd be shooting for a 20, not a hole in one, .......and in your world, It'd only be worth buying one ball because you can only get a hole in one with your first ball/swing. And if some golfer managed to get a hole in one you could mount a legal challenge saying it's not the act of getting the ball in the hole in one shot it's the score that counts.

 

So maybe those things should be renamed from "hole in one competition" to "Get the ball into the hole in as few shots as you can and win a prize"

 

 

You are right, the hole starts is when you put your first ball on the tee. It continued when you put the second ball there and ended when you holed out for par. Don't get us wrong... it's still a great shot, just not a hole in one.

 

As for the charity example, they can call it whatever the hell they want but they are doing it to raise money for charity. If you make it on the tenth ball or seventh (or anything after the first) it's not truly a hole in one. All you did was buy extra swings at a prize.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by 14ledo81 View Post


What would you call it if I teed up 12 inches behind the markers and topped one 6 inches. I then proceed to hole the next shot. At that point I have holed out from the tee. Would you call that a hole in one?

 

I'd call that a birdie... he only made par.

post #70 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by tristanhilton85 View Post

    I'd call that a birdie... he only made par.

But..but.. I holed out from the tee..that has to be a hole in one.
post #71 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetFan1983 View Post

"Going" as in future tense?

Sadly, I guess that ship has sailed......

Such a silly thing too.
post #72 of 79
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14ledo81 View Post


What would you call it if I teed up 12 inches behind the markers and topped one 6 inches. I then proceed to hole the next shot. At that point I have holed out from the tee. Would you call that a hole in one?

You're ball is in play and live

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
This thread is locked  
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Hole in three today