or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Sprinklers
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Sprinklers

post #1 of 12
Thread Starter 

It is my understanding that you can take relief from sprinklers if your stance or your swing is interfered with by the sprinkler.

 

I play with people who take it a step further, which I disagree with. They give themselves a free drop when they are near the green if there is a sprinkler in their intended putting path, even though their swing or stance is no way affected by it.  I tell them they need to hit a chip over it or risk the chance of putting it.  Someone educate me on this please.

post #2 of 12
Thread Starter 

My argument to them is that if you can get relief because it is in your way, then why not move your ball because a sprinkler box is in your way or a cart path or anything else that is your way.

post #3 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCfanatic35 View Post

It is my understanding that you can take relief from sprinklers if your stance or your swing is interfered with by the sprinkler.

 

I play with people who take it a step further, which I disagree with. They give themselves a free drop when they are near the green if there is a sprinkler in their intended putting path, even though their swing or stance is no way affected by it.  I tell them they need to hit a chip over it or risk the chance of putting it.  Someone educate me on this please.

 

Normally you are correct.  However it is possible for the COmmittee to adopt and USGA approved Local Rule that WOULD give line of play relief under certain conditions.  here is the USGA sample Local Rule:

 

 

Quote:

6. Immovable Obstructions Close to Putting Green

Rule 24-2 provides relief, without penalty, from interference by an immovable obstruction, but it also provides that, except on the putting green, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

However, on some courses, the aprons of the putting greens are so closely mown that players may wish to putt from just off the green. In such conditions, immovable obstructions on the apron may interfere with the proper playing of the game and the introduction of the following Local Rule providing additional relief, without penalty, from intervention by an immovable obstruction would be warranted:

“Relief from interference by an immovable obstruction may be taken under Rule 24-2.

In addition, if a ball lies through the green and an immovable obstruction on or within two club-lengths of the putting green and within two club-lengths of the ball intervenes on the line of play between the ball and the hole, the player may take relief as follows:

The ball must be lifted and dropped at the nearest point to where the ball lay that (a) is not nearer the hole, (b) avoids intervention and (c) is not in a hazard or on a putting green.

If the player’s ball lies on the putting green and an immovable obstruction within two club-lengths of the putting green intervenes on his line of putt, the player may take relief as follows:

The ball must be lifted and placed at the nearest point to where the ball lay that (a) is not nearer the hole, (b) avoids intervention and (c) is not in a hazard.

The ball may be cleaned when lifted.

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Local Rule if interference by anything other than the immovable obstruction makes the stroke clearly impracticable.

post #4 of 12
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

 

Normally you are correct.  However it is possible for the COmmittee to adopt and USGA approved Local Rule that WOULD give line of play relief under certain conditions.  here is the USGA sample Local Rule:

 

 

How would I know the local rule? Is that posted on the scorecard or would I have to ask someone?  Because I see people at my country club doing that and also taking relief from fences. I'm not sure if they are doing this legally or if it's just been the way they have always played.

post #5 of 12

It should be on the scorecard, on a notice in the pro shop or locker room or preferably all.

post #6 of 12
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

It should be on the scorecard, on a notice in the pro shop or locker room or preferably all.

Thanks rulesman, I found it on the card.  So I have another question in relation to local rules that I don't see on the card.  There are fences around the perimeter of my course, and also some fences inside the course boundaries surrounding water tanks.  If the scorecard makes no mention of those in regards to getting relief, does that mean you have to play it as it lies, or are those considered immovable obstructions?

post #7 of 12

They are Immovable Obstructions.

post #8 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCfanatic35 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

It should be on the scorecard, on a notice in the pro shop or locker room or preferably all.

Thanks rulesman, I found it on the card.  So I have another question in relation to local rules that I don't see on the card.  There are fences around the perimeter of my course, and also some fences inside the course boundaries surrounding water tanks.  If the scorecard makes no mention of those in regards to getting relief, does that mean you have to play it as it lies, or are those considered immovable obstructions?

 

Those within the boundaries of the course are immovable obstructions.  If they are on the perimeter, then they are probably boundary fences, and if so they are not obstructions, and no relief is allowed.  Those around the water tanks should be obstructions unless otherwise declared by the course or committee.

post #9 of 12

The sprinkler head must physically interfere with stance or swing.  If it's in your line, tough cookies.

post #10 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCfanatic35 View Post

Thanks rulesman, I found it on the card.  So I have another question in relation to local rules that I don't see on the card.  There are fences around the perimeter of my course, and also some fences inside the course boundaries surrounding water tanks.  If the scorecard makes no mention of those in regards to getting relief, does that mean you have to play it as it lies, or are those considered immovable obstructions?

 

Apologies. My post above was only relating to the fence around the water tanks.

 

Any fence denoting out of bounds is not an Immovable Obstruction and free relief is not available.

 

From the Definition of Out of Bounds

Objects defining out of bounds such as walls, fences, stakes and railings are not obstructions and are deemed to be fixed. Stakes identifying out of bounds are not obstructions and are deemed to be fixed.

post #11 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

The sprinkler head must physically interfere with stance or swing.  If it's in your line, tough cookies.

 

Providing there isn't a Local Rule as mentioned above.

post #12 of 12
Thread Starter 

There is a local rule regarding the sprinklers I found out. If the sprinkler is within 2 club lengths of the green and if your ball is within 2 club lengths of the sprinkler and in the intended path you get relief.  Thanks for all of the help guys it's eased my mind about these, especially since we are playing for money and weren't sure if guys were bending the rules.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Sprinklers