How so? It will be slightly faster by exactly the amount of time saved by only traveling most of the way. Alternative #2 has him traveling all of the way, so that will take longer. On the other hand, if you are already most of the way there, you're not going to go back now before you look because if you do and then come back and DO find it, then you just wasted a bunch of time.
Of course, around here, playing a busy course where you're waiting to hit your hext shot anyway, it's a moot point.
OK, so what they are saying is that this rule has some wiggle room. (In that it's not really a rule, I guess) You're not going to be penalized for doing something like I mentioned in my previous post, but they also don't want you doing what we're talking about either. Going forward most of the way, then deciding to come back and hit a provisional, THEN going to look and actually finding it.
"Going forward to search" has a very narrow definition. If you go 40 yards forward, other than to get another ball or club from your bag, then decide to return to play a "provisional", the ball you play is not a provisional, it is your ball in play and the original ball is lost by definition.