Originally Posted by SCfanatic35
Originally Posted by David in FL
The "job" of my ball marker is to mark my ball. Nothing else. I prefer something large enough that I can see it from a distance, as when I'm looking at my line from behind the hole.I'm more than willing to move it for a fellow competitor if asked to do so.......
I didn't realize there was a choice. I thought you had to move it if asked to do so or else your are disqualified?
Isn't that what he said? He said that he'll move it if asked. What else did you read?
As far as disqualification is concerned, all I find are references to a refusal to lift the ball when it may be assisting play. I don't know if the penalty extends to the ball marker as well. But there if there isn't any specific reference to it, I think that Rule 1-4 would then be applicable, and the appropriate penalty would be applied in equity in a situation involving the ball marker assisting or interfering with play in place of the ball. It seems to me that the ball marker is essentially a stand in for the ball, so most such requirements involving a ball at rest would apply to the ball marker as well.