or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343) - Page 23

post #397 of 1228
OK....dumb question
post #398 of 1228
Thread Starter 

 

If you think "that doesn't look like much" consider how wide his feet look - TV compresses things. That's 2-3 yards.

post #399 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStriker View Post


I didn't see it specified in the rule that the drop couldn't be closer to the hole, just that it be as nearly as possible....is there another rule that says this drop can't be closer?


Rule 20-2(c):

Quote:

A dropped ball must be re-dropped, without penalty, if it:

...

(vii) rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole than:

...

(b) the nearest point of relief or maximum available relief (Rule 24-2, 25-1 or 25-3); or
post #400 of 1228
Thread Starter 

post #401 of 1228

Another dumb question -- is this DQ or nothing, or could they adjust the card? 

post #402 of 1228
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStriker View Post

Another dumb question -- is this DQ or nothing, or could they adjust the card? 

 

Card's signed. DQ or nada.

 

At the very least I expect to see the Decisions updated in 2014 with a definition for the word "nearly." a1_smile.gif

post #403 of 1228

Once you sign a scorecard, it's written in stone. If this comes out as a misstep by Tiger, then he's DQ'd. At least, as far as I know. 

 

This makes me sick to my stomach. 

post #404 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by BallStriker View Post

Another dumb question -- is this DQ or nothing, or could they adjust the card? 

DQ or nothing, he signed the card.

I still doubt we'll see him DQed. Under strict rules observation, yeah, he probably broke it, but "as close as possible" is still subjective enough to some degree.


(Also, DQed sounds like Dairy Queen-ed. Mmmmmmm.)
post #405 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamo View Post


DQ or nothing, he signed the card.

I still doubt we'll see him DQed. Under strict rules observation, yeah, he probably broke it, but "as close as possible" is still subjective enough to some degree.


(Also, DQed sounds like Dairy Queen-ed. Mmmmmmm.)

 

God I hope so. I really hope he is allowed to stay in the tournament. Plus, what a shitstorm this'll bring. Never good. 

post #406 of 1228
For everyone discuss the rule as close as possible to the last shot. I have attended multiple USGA rules seminars and surprise this always comes up. Everyone conducting the seminar stated its mainly to protect players that walked away from the shot. Also they don't want a player dropping it in their own divot. I know the divot is actually in front of the ball but let's not get into this. What they also said was a couple inches to avoid where you previously hit from. Someone once asked a club away and they said that wouldn't be acceptable.
post #407 of 1228
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbishop15 View Post

God I hope so. I really hope he is allowed to stay in the tournament. Plus, what a shitstorm this'll bring. Never good. 

 

And if he wins, people will claim it has an asterisk or that he "cheated" or goodness knows what.

post #408 of 1228

If you sign for a higher score you take the higher score, happened to me in high school d1_bigcry.gif

post #409 of 1228

When would they have to make a decision by? Before he tees off tomorrow or just before the end of the tournament?

post #410 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

 

And if he wins, people will claim it has an asterisk or that he "cheated" or goodness knows what.

Yeah, that would suck terribly.

 

If he broke the rules, he broke the rules. But I really hope the officials determine that he didn't. 

post #411 of 1228
According to Sobel, Bubba is going off tomorrow morning first as a single. Got to think he won't be able to resist hamming it up with the crowd a bit. Bubba golf to the extreme!
post #412 of 1228

this is a debate that will never go away:

 

- let Tiger play, and as pointed out earlier it will forever be argued that he should have been DQ'd

 

- DQ Tiger and it will forever be argued that he could/would have won and had yet another major

post #413 of 1228

I'm trying to find this on other media outlets, but it's not there. Very strange. You think someone would hear this and fall all over themselves to report it. 

post #414 of 1228
There is absolutely ZERO chance Tiger gets DQ'd. Come on people. Do you think they will take Tiger out of the Masters with him vying for the lead going into the weekend? I'd say the chances of him getting DQ'd are about the same as Tianlang getting his penalty stroke back.

FWIW, I do think Tiger broke the rule.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Tour Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)