or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343) - Page 38

post #667 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

There is no doubt he could very reasonably have discovered the issue prior to returning his score card. He messed up in the heat of things and lost track of rules and/or where the ball went. You don't need to review camera footage closely to determine this.

You dont know what TW knew or thought at the time; psychic.

 

And why would TW have made the drop then call Freddie over to double check, then Freddie gives the ok, then TW makes the next shot.

post #668 of 1228

Bubba off to a fast start. -3 after 3 holes in today's round (+1 overall)........

post #669 of 1228

I don't see how Tiger would not be playing by the rules if he accepts the decision of the rules committee.  Its not like he cheated and tried to lie about it, 

post #670 of 1228
Golf is unfair at times, but that's how it works. We can't bend rules to fit new situations. Sure, the rule give them some leeway in determining the ruling, but based on why they made the rule and how it is worded, I don't like it.
post #671 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by atb5079 View Post

Here's another reason I give a big, whopping **** YOU to the committee:

 

from Bob Harig's article:

 

"After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole," Riley said in the statement. "At that moment, based on the evidence, the committee determined he had complied with the rules.

 

Even they had to be prompted the review it. They reviewed it. Everything was fine and dandy. Then later they reviewed it again and uh oh, all this broke loose.

 

So I understand why you all hate TW and think he needs to WD, and part of me agrees. But this one is on the committee. Also, when TW dropped it, he had Freddie come over and check and even Freddie said it was fine. Nobody noticed anything or questioned anything until some fan brought it to the committee's attention. That is why this entire ordeal is a joke. The committee was aware enough to do their own job. What a joke.

If this was the case, then Tiger should get no heat, it should of been up to the committee to spot it and tell him, so he could of adjusted his score accordingly then signed it off.

 

If they review it and tell him its fine, how can you blame him for signing off?

post #672 of 1228
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostmyballs View Post

Why would he withdraw, he accepted the results by the rules committee. Lets not let be prideful goats. Play the game.

Because they applied the rule incorrectly and he knows better. Because it's the tight thing to do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Martin View Post


Have to give the mod huge props/credit for initially bringing this to surface last night before it became common knowledge in today's media. I don't know if you picked up on this when it happened or someone else triggered/brought it to your attention, but it was definitely a great pick up.

I said it on our chat within seconds of him saying it in his interview. I posted a screenshot earlier.
post #673 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by atb5079 View Post

You dont know what TW knew or thought at the time; psychic.

And why would TW have made the drop then call Freddie over to double check, then Freddie gives the ok, then TW makes the next shot.
I'm saying he could. This was not the result of someone spotting a small detail on TV. Something Tiger couldn't notice. He very clearly could have noticed that he was dropping in the wrong place. The heat of the moment may be a big part of it, but that's not why this rule was made.
post #674 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

The committee had already ruled that he had proceeded correctly.   He then signed and returned his card.  The committee then reviewed the ruling and determined that he had dropped incorrectly after all.  The fact that he returned an incorrect score was the fault of the committee, not Tiger's.  Therefore the penalty is assessed, but the disqualification is waived because Tiger proceeded correctly before returning his card.

Thank you!

post #675 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Golf is unfair at times, but that's how it works. We can't bend rules to fit new situations. Sure, the rule give them some leeway in determining the ruling, but based on why they made the rule and how it is worded, I don't like it.

Great, but that is not TW's fault. He's not a cheater for accepting it.

post #676 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsiplusconker View Post

If this was the case, then Tiger should get no heat, it should of been up to the committee to spot it and tell him, so he could of adjusted his score accordingly then signed it off.

 

If they review it and tell him its fine, how can you blame him for signing off?

Exactly.

post #677 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by atb5079 View Post

Great, but that is not TW's fault. He's not a cheater for accepting it.
He's lucky the committee didn't DQ him. Legally, he hasn't broken any rules, but it's still a strange ruling. You can get rulings from committees which may not be correct. That makes people talk.
post #678 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post


I'm saying he could. This was not the result of someone spotting a small detail on TV. Something Tiger couldn't notice. He very clearly could have noticed that he was dropping in the wrong place. The heat of the moment may be a big part of it, but that's not why this rule was made.

Great, but so could the committee then. The committee after reviewing everything b/c a random fan had to bring the violation of RULES to the RULES committee, decided at the END of the round, AFTER he signed his card that he had indeed violated a rule. Note the BIG WORDS. This is why this is an embarassment and entirely on the committee.

 

And btw STFU Chamblee

post #679 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

 

The committee had already ruled that he had proceeded correctly.   He then signed and returned his card.  The committee then reviewed the ruling and determined that he had dropped incorrectly after all.  The fact that he returned an incorrect score was the fault of the committee, not Tiger's.  Therefore the penalty is assessed, but the disqualification is waived because Tiger proceeded correctly before returning his card.

This is exactly it.

 

DQ would be punishing Tiger for the committees incompetence. 

post #680 of 1228

A DQ would be make the committee look good, but hurt their wallets.

 

This ruling makes the committee look meh, but helps their wallets.

 

If I was TW, I would WD just to hurt their wallets and tell the committee to learn the rules, as TW should know himself.

post #681 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by atb5079 View Post

A DQ would be make the committee look good, but hurt their wallets.

 

This ruling makes the committee look meh, but helps their wallets.

 

If I was TW, I would WD just to hurt their wallets and tell the committee to learn the rules, as TW should know himself.


The only wallets hurting if TW doesn't play is CBS. The event is sold out with people paying $5-7k/badge to get in. CBS has paid for broadcast rights. Augusta National doesn't have to worry about its wallet.

post #682 of 1228
Quote:
After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

That changes things a bit. By changing the ruling, they made a big mistake. If there is room in the rules to not DQ based on that though, I don't know.
post #683 of 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

The committee had already ruled that he had proceeded correctly.   He then signed and returned his card.  The committee then reviewed the ruling and determined that he had dropped incorrectly after all.  The fact that he returned an incorrect score was the fault of the committee, not Tiger's.  Therefore the penalty is assessed, but the disqualification is waived because Tiger proceeded correctly before returning his card.



Since the committee deterined that he had not incurred a penalty, Tiger went with their decision.  They reversed the decision on later review, but Tiger had no control over that.  To DQ a player after he has been told that he had done everything correctly would be a travesty.  The only reason we are drawing out this discussion is because too many Tiger haters have the peculiar idea that Tiger gets special treatment.

This makes the most sense to me so far. If the committee takes the blame, everyone wins..
post #684 of 1228

The masters should not be decided by stupid rules after the fact. He should not have to withdraw thats absurd. He didnt intentionally cheat. It should be like football. Review it once and play on. Make the decision now not 5 hours from now.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Tour Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Tour Talk › 2013 Masters Discussion Thread, Update with Tiger's Illegal Drop (Post #343)