... The rules committee screwed up. Simple as that.
I also had a question, from someone who knows the rules better than me. According to the ROG, decisions from the committee are "final". Well, they made a decision yesterday but apparently that wasn't final, because then they changed the decision afterwards. So, if they're allowed to change their minds, how much time do they get to do it? Until the end of the competition? I can't seem to find a statue of limitations, per se, on rulings that the committee makes.
Correction of Incorrect Ruling in Stroke Play
Q.During the first round of a 36-hole stroke-play competition, a competitor plays a wrong ball from a bunker at the 6th hole and the ball comes to rest on the green. He then realizes that he has played a wrong ball and corrects his mistake. The competitor reports the facts to the Committee before returning his card and is incorrectly advised that he has incurred no penalty since the wrong ball was played from a hazard.
During the second round the Committee realizes that it made a mistake and retrospectively adds to the competitor's first-round score two penalty strokes at the 6th hole, but does not disqualify the competitor under Rule 6-6d.
The competitor objects on the ground that the Committee reached a decision on the matter the previous day and that, as Rule 34-3 states that the Committee's decision is final, it cannot now impose a penalty.
Was the Committee's procedure correct?
A.Yes. Under Rule 34-3, a Committee's decision is final in that the competitor has no right to appeal. However, Rule 34-3 does not prevent a Committee from correcting an incorrect ruling and imposing or rescinding a penalty provided that no penalty is imposed or rescinded after the competition is closed, except in the circumstances set forth in Rule 34-1b.