or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › sandtrap under repair, where to drop without penalty?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

sandtrap under repair, where to drop without penalty? - Page 2

post #19 of 27

I thought I'd understood what was going on after 4 or 5 posts now...... not so sure.

 

Anyway lets discuss something more straightforward, how about, how to define "certain" when the ball may have gone in a water hazard!

post #20 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

Call me a pedant but the committee cannot designate a bunker TTG first because that would be overriding a Definition - no can do a2_wink.gif

 

I'm apparently just having trouble with my communication skills  because I really am trying to agree with everything you said. z6_surrender.gif a1_smile.gif

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

I thought I'd understood what was going on after 4 or 5 posts now...... not so sure.

 

Anyway lets discuss something more straightforward, how about, how to define "certain" when the ball may have gone in a water hazard!

 

The thread went sideways because of me.  Sorry.

 

How about we discuss the difference between an incorrectly substituted ball and a wrong ball.

post #21 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post

 

How about we discuss the difference between an incorrectly substituted ball and a wrong ball.

Incorrectly substituted is when you have 12 men in the huddle, a wrong ball is a formal event that you're not invited to.

 

Easy, next!

post #22 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wansteadimp View Post

Incorrectly substituted is when you have 12 men in the huddle, a wrong ball is a formal event that you're not invited to.

 

Easy, next!

 

I thought it was when a guy enters the ice before the player he is replacing is within 5 feet of the bench.  And a wrong ball is what Bubba hits when he visits Japan.

post #23 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

 

Too many people try to over-complicate the rules.  This is a perfect example of how simple most rules are.  Certainly there are extremely unusual circumstances that require a little thought and research, but 98.3% (exactly a3_biggrin.gif) of the time, if you understand the very basic rules, you can figure out the correct ruling without too much effort.

 

BTW.....that's not meant to be a shot at the OP for the question, just a general observation. 

Exactly. We have a plan being implimented as we speak and the bunkers on six holes are being reconstructed. It is pretty easy to figure out where to drop the ball when you get into one of reconstruction sites. Nearest relief, no closer to the hole.

post #24 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by phan52 View Post

Exactly. We have a plan being implimented as we speak and the bunkers on six holes are being reconstructed. It is pretty easy to figure out where to drop the ball when you get into one of reconstruction sites. Nearest relief, no closer to the hole.

 

Not that easy a2_wink.gif

 

Within one clublength of the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.

post #25 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by phan52 View Post

Exactly. We have a plan being implimented as we speak and the bunkers on six holes are being reconstructed. It is pretty easy to figure out where to drop the ball when you get into one of reconstruction sites. Nearest relief, no closer to the hole.

 

Not that easy a2_wink.gif

 

Within one clublength of the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.

 

Ensuring that relief remains complete when the ball has come to rest. a2_wink.gif

post #26 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

Not that easy a2_wink.gif

 

Within one clublength of the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.

That's a given. The OP appeared to be confused about whether to treat it as a lateral or a regular hazard, which isn't the play. It's not a hazard. It's GUR.

post #27 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by phan52 View Post

That's a given. 

 

I afraid not always. There are lot of people around who don't understand it properly.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › sandtrap under repair, where to drop without penalty?