or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball blown off of tee
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball blown off of tee

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 

The player makes a swing at the ball which is teed up in the teeing area.  Before he makes contact, the ball blows off of the tee.

 

I think he has to count the stroke for the miss and then play it as it lies.

 

There are a couple of rules, but none that covers this exact scenario:

 

11-3. Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

 

ALL FALLING OFF TEE

11-3/1

Stroke Misses Ball; Ball Then Accidentally Knocked Off Tee

Q.A player teed his ball within the teeing ground. He made a stroke at the ball but missed it. He addressed the ball again and accidentally knocked it off the tee. What is the ruling?

A.When the player made a stroke at the ball, it was in play and Rule 11-3 no longer applied. When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player incurred a penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball (Rule 18-2b).

post #2 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraiginKSA View Post

The player makes a swing at the ball which is teed up in the teeing area.  Before he makes contact, the ball blows off of the tee.

 

I think he has to count the stroke for the miss and then play it as it lies.

 

There are a couple of rules, but none that covers this exact scenario:

 

11-3. Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

 

ALL FALLING OFF TEE

11-3/1

Stroke Misses Ball; Ball Then Accidentally Knocked Off Tee

Q.A player teed his ball within the teeing ground. He made a stroke at the ball but missed it. He addressed the ball again and accidentally knocked it off the tee. What is the ruling?

A.When the player made a stroke at the ball, it was in play and Rule 11-3 no longer applied. When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player incurred a penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball (Rule 18-2b).

 

If the player makes a forward movement of the club with the intent to strike the ball, then he has made a stroke.  If he checks his swing before the club gets to the ball, then no stroke has been made.

post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraiginKSA View Post

The player makes a swing at the ball which is teed up in the teeing area.  Before he makes contact, the ball blows off of the tee.

 

I think he has to count the stroke for the miss and then play it as it lies.

 

There are a couple of rules, but none that covers this exact scenario:

 

11-3. Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

 

ALL FALLING OFF TEE

11-3/1

Stroke Misses Ball; Ball Then Accidentally Knocked Off Tee

Q.A player teed his ball within the teeing ground. He made a stroke at the ball but missed it. He addressed the ball again and accidentally knocked it off the tee. What is the ruling?

A.When the player made a stroke at the ball, it was in play and Rule 11-3 no longer applied. When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player incurred a penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball (Rule 18-2b).

 

 

 

This is the important and relevant part of the rule

 

However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

 

 

See also Decision 14/1.5

 

 

14/1.5

Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball

Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?

A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.

If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.

Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.

post #4 of 7
Thread Starter 

I forgot to add that the player did make a stroke at the ball, and actually struck the now empty tee!  The ball blew off just before contact would have been made, so there was no time to check the swing or alter the swing path.

 

Does the player get to re-tee the ball or does he have to play it as it lies AND take a penalty?  So would he be hitting his third shot from the tee box, but off the deck?

post #5 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post

 

 

 

This is the important and relevant part of the rule

 

However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

 

 

See also Decision 14/1.5

 

 

14/1.5

Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball

Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?

A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.

If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.

Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.

The Kevin Na defence!

 

Off topic - where has he been this season?

post #6 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraiginKSA View Post

I forgot to add that the player did make a stroke at the ball, and actually struck the now empty tee!  The ball blew off just before contact would have been made, so there was no time to check the swing or alter the swing path.

 

Does the player get to re-tee the ball or does he have to play it as it lies AND take a penalty?  So would he be hitting his third shot from the tee box, but off the deck?

 

He has two options.  Since the original stroke counts, and he did not knock the ball off the tee, there's no penalty.  He can play the ball as it lies is now hitting 2.  Or, as always, he has the option of replaying the original shot, in this case from the tee, under penalty of one stroke.  In that case, he would be hitting 3.

post #7 of 7

Case pretty much closed. But the thread title made me think of this. a1_smile.gif

 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball blown off of tee