Do you believe that if is was any other golfer in the field the committee would have made the same decision? Somehow I think it had more to do with ratings than with golf. It was the first time in my memory that someone has signed an incorrect score card and not received a DQ penalty. I just don't see how this situation was different to warrant a lesser penalty.
To believe this is to believe that the whole rules establishment of golf is irretrievably corrupt. Which is patently absurd.
The Committee screwed up, but their mistake (not talking to Tiger before he signed his card - which is the standard procedure on call-ins according to David Fay), just like Tiger's, was an honest one. And there is not the slightest shred of evidence to the contrary, just the ravings of conspiracy theorists. Don't put yourself in that camp.
Listen to this is you want to hear the real story. It is David Fay being interviewed by famous Tiger detractor John Feinstein about this situation. Despite the flack from Feinstein, Fay makes a convincing case.