Originally Posted by minitour
Remember, the procedure has since changed. At the time, you played out, then went back and played out again. Now, you drop and play simultaneously. That kept Ken Venturi whining for almost 50 years. In fact, he's probably still whining about it.
Are you sure? Not my understanding, the rule even then was the two balls were to be played concurrently not consecutively. Here is the rule in effect in 1956-1960:
5. Stroke Play: Doubt as to Procedure
In stroke play only, when a competitor is doubtful of his rights or procedure, he may play out the hole with the ball in play and, at the same time, complete the play of the hole with a second ball. Before playing a stroke with either ball, the competitor must announce to his marker his intention to proceed under this Rule and must announce which ball he wants to score with if the Rules permit.
If it were as you suggest I would expect something like "... he may play out the hole with the ball in play and then subsequently complete play of the hole with a second ball. Before ...". Anyway my point was lots of similarities in the two incidents, lots misinformation, lots of opinions, confusion, and interpretations of what happened and what should have happened. Earlier I quoted "According to Morrissett, it does not appear that Palmer played the second ball correctly.", and I'm with Morrissett, Palmer didn't proceed correctly playing the second ball just as Tiger didn't proceed correctly with his drop. Same outcome too, committee rules and tournament goes forward, just as it should.