It's the PLAYERS ONUS TO ENSURE THAT THEIR SCORECARD IS CORRECT PRIOR TO SIGNING. Tiger violated a very basic rule and failed to apply the appropriate penalty shots, and then signed an incorrect scorecard. It's the player's responsibility to call infractions on themselves and ensure their card is correct before signing. Tiger did not know that they had reviewed and ruled that there was no infraction at that point. Therefore it doesn't absolve him from having to verify it was correct.
Even if he didn't intend to break the rule, or didn't know the rule, or didn't realize he broke the rule is all irrelevant. The only justification would be if Tiger had asked for verification before signing and was incorrectly informed that he didn't break the rule by a rules official. In that case, he would have tried to verify his score and been incorrectly informed by an official. However he didn't do that. Whether he knew the rule, intended to break the rule, etc. doesn't matter. What matters is that he violated a rule, didn't apply the penalty strokes and signed an incorrect card. That is automatic DQ.
Ok, I think we disagree.
I guess we both correlate this to a case where Rules Official gives a ruling which is against the RoG on course, the player is not penalised for this wrong ruling as it has been approved by RO (even though RO has been wrong). In TW case the Rules Officials did not tell TW anything, as they agreed all was well. I disagree with you that the communication between Committee and TW would have been needed to avoid DQ. I agree that it would have cleared the confusion a lot. But IMO it was Committees mistake not player's.