or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Yet another rules question , maybe a hole in 1
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Yet another rules question , maybe a hole in 1

post #1 of 9
Thread Starter 
Teeing off on a 90 yds par 3, land on the green ball rolls and comes to a stop 1 rotation short of the hole. Others tee off, we walk to the green and a huge gust of wind knocks my ball in the hole, is that a hole in one or do i replace the ball and putt ?
post #2 of 9

That's a hole in one. 

 

If an outside agency causes the ball to go into the hole then you must replace it and putt out. But the wind is not an outside agency and you accept the good luck in hopefully the same manner you would should the wind blow your ball further away from the hole.

post #3 of 9

That is indeed a hole in one. These decisions don't fit 100%, but you get the idea of it. This is why you can see pro players run to the green on windy days. If their ball is moved by the wind, they have to play from where the ball stops.

 

 

 

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q.A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A.Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.

 

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

 

 

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
 
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

 

 

18-2a/7

Ball Moved by Wind Replaced

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball was moved by wind. Since wind is not an outside agency (see Definition of "Outside Agency"), he should have played it from where it came to rest, but he replaced it. What is the ruling?

A.The competitor incurred one penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a, and, before playing his next stroke, he should have replaced the ball on the spot where it came to rest after being moved by the wind. If he did not do so, he incurred a total penalty of two strokes - see penalty statement under Rule 18.

post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeph View Post

Ask Linda #295-Wind blows ball into hole

 

Quote:
Q: What happens if you replace your ball on the green, remove your marker, step away to look at your line, and then the wind blows your ball into the hole?
Lulu
 
A: Rejoice in your good luck. Your ball is holed. If you were lying 4 on the green, then your score for the hole is 4.

You would have been penalized if you replaced the ball:

 

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

post #5 of 9
Nice ace! a3_biggrin.gif
post #6 of 9
Thread Starter 
Wohoo, finally some good luck today after a wierd week or 90deg left or right bounces or bouncing on sprinkler heads :)
post #7 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkuehn1952 View Post

I believe once the ball fell into the hole it would be considered holed and subsequent actions (like taking it out and hitting it again) would not be subject to penalties.  Of course if you took it out, tapped it in, wrote "2" on the score card and turned that score in, you would in fact have a "2" as respects your total score.  That is not a penalty stroke but just a case of signing for a higher incorrect score.

Good call.

post #8 of 9

Congrats!  If this was hockey, you buddy would get the assist!

post #9 of 9

Yep you're buying drinks c2_beer.gif

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Yet another rules question , maybe a hole in 1